Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

1998 Positions on Gun Rights

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican A+
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican A
TX State House 25 Dennis Bonnen Republican A
TX State House 30 Geanie Morrison Republican A
TX State House 61 Phil King Republican A
TX State House 80 Tracy King Democratic A
TX State House 82 Thomas Craddick Republican A+
TX State House 86 John Smithee Republican A+
TX State House 135 Gary Elkins Republican A
TX State House 141 Senfronia Thompson Democratic A+
TX State House 142 Harold Dutton, Jr. Democratic F
TX State House 147 Garnet Coleman Democratic F
TX Chief Judge of the U.S. District Court Eastern Ron Clark A+
TX Senior Judge of the U.S. District Court Western Robert Junell A+
Clyde Alexander A+
Ray Allen A+
Ken Armbrister A+
Kip Averitt A+
Kevin Bailey A
Leo Berman A
David Bernsen A
Teel Bivins A
Fred Bosse A+
Kenneth Brimer A+
Betty Brown A
Fred Brown A
J.E. Brown A
Lon Burnam C-
John Carona A+
Bill Gene Carter A+
Norma Chávez A
Warren Chisum A+
Wayne Christian A+
Robert Cook III A+
Frank Corte, Jr. A+
David Counts, Jr. A+
Joe Crabb A
Myra Crownover A
Debra Danburg D
John Davis A
Dianne White Delisi A
Mary Denny A+
Joe Driver A+
Robert Duncan A
Craig Eiland A
Daniel Ellis A
David Farabee B-
Domingo Garcia B
Bob Glaze A
Toby Goodman A
Tony Goolsby B+
Patricia Gray B
Rick Green A
Sherri Greenberg F
Kent Grusendorf A+
Pat Haggerty A+
Peggy Hamric A
Rick Hardcastle A
Will Ford Hartnett A-
Judy Hawley A
Tom Haywood A+
Talmadge Heflin A+
Paul Hilbert A
Harvey Hilderbran A+
Fred Hill A+
Ruben Hope, Jr. A
Charlie Howard A+
Bob Hunter A+
Suzanna Gratia Hupp A+
Carl Isett A+
Mike Jackson A+
Kyle Janek A
Delwin Jones B
Terry Keel A+
Jim Keffer A
Mike Krusee A+
Edmund Kuempel A+
James Laney A+
Ronald Lewis A
Jerry Madden A
Glen Maxey F
Jim McReynolds A+
Thomas Merritt A
Paul Moreno F
Anna Mowery A
Elliott Naishtat F
Manny Najera C+
Joe Nixon A
Rick Noriega B
Steve Ogden A+
Sue Palmer A+
Jim Pitts A+
Tom Ramsay A
Bill Ratliff A
Elvira Reyna A+
Allan Ritter A
Gene Seaman A+
John Shields A+
David Sibley A
William Siebert A+
Todd Smith A
Burt Solomons A
Todd Staples A
David Swinford A+
Robert Talton A+
Barry Telford A+
Dale Bryan Tillery A
Vicki Truitt A
Robert Turner A+
D. R. Uher A
Gary Walker A+
George West A+
Tommy Williams A+
Ron Wilson A+
Arlene Reid Wohlgemuth A+
Beverly Woolley A
Ken Yarbrough A+
Zeb Zbranek A

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top