Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: South Dakota Shooting Sports Association

2006 Positions

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
SD Lieutenant Governor Matt Michels Republican 100%
SD State House 11 Mark Willadsen Republican 100%
SD State House 18 Jean Hunhoff Republican 86%
SD State House 21 Julie Bartling Democratic 100%
SD State House 24 Tim Rounds Republican 100%
SD State House 29 Thomas Brunner Republican 100%
SD State House 29 Larry Rhoden Republican 89%
SD State House 31 Charles Turbiville Republican 86%
SD State Senate 2 Brock Greenfield Republican 100%
SD State Senate 3 Al Novstrup Republican 100%
SD State Senate 7 Larry Tidemann Republican 100%
SD State Senate 9 Deb Peters Republican 100%
SD Secretary of State Shantel Krebs Republican 100%
SD Commissioner 3 Tom Hansen 100%
SD Commissioner At-Large Dick Kelly 100%
SD Commissioner At-Large Jim Lintz 100%
SD Commissioner At-Large Duane Sutton 100%
Gene Abdallah 100%
Stanford Adelstein 100%
Jerry Apa 100%
Eric Bogue 100%
Jamie Boomgarden 100%
James Bradford 57%
Bernard Michael Broderick, Jr. 100%
Michael Buckingham 100%
Joni Cutler 80%
Justin Davis 100%
Thomas Deadrick 100%
Thomas Dempster 100%
H. Dennert 80%
Jay Duenwald 100%
J.P. Duniphan 100%
Joel Dykstra 100%
William Earley 100%
Burt Elliott 86%
Bob Faehn 86%
Larry Frost 89%
Arthur Fryslie 100%
Jason Gant 100%
Cooper Garnos 78%
David Gassman 71%
Margaret Gillespie 91%
Mary Glenski 57%
Thomas Glover 71%
Bob Gray 100%
Tom Hackl 100%
Patrick Haley 75%
Clayton Halverson 86%
Alan Hanks 100%
Gary Hanson 100%
Dale Hargens 78%
Jeffrey Haverly 100%
Phyllis Heineman 100%
Thomas Hennies 100%
Thomas Hills 86%
Gordon Howie 100%
James Hundstad 75%
Roger Hunt 100%
Barry Jensen 100%
Gary Jerke 100%
Ted Klaudt 86%
Frank Kloucek 100%
David Knudson 71%
Gilbert Koetzle 71%
Al Koistinen 100%
Clarence Kooistra 75%
John Koskan 100%
Elizabeth Kraus 100%
Michael Kroger 71%
Gerald Lange 71%
Alice Lucille McCoy 100%
Royal McCracken 100%
Ed McLaughlin 100%
Kenneth McNenny 100%
Kathleen Miles 89%
Garry Allen Moore 88%
Casey Murschel 89%
William Napoli 100%
Paul Nelson 100%
Benjamin Nesselhuf 100%
Sean O'Brien 82%
Edwin Olson, Jr. 100%
Ryan Olson 86%
Gordon Pederson 86%
Jim Peterson 100%
J.E. Putnam 100%
Valentine Rausch 100%
Tim Rave 100%
Elaine Roberts 78%
Donna Schafer 86%
Lee Anton Schoenbeck 100%
Louis Sebert 100%
David Sigdestad 86%
Orville Smidt 100%
Steve Street 86%
Daniel Sutton 100%
William Thompson 43%
R. Shawn Tornow 56%
Theresa Two Bulls 100%
Paul Valandra 71%
Donald Van Etten 100%
Thomas Van Norman 67%
Mike Vehle 86%
Keri Weems 100%
Hal Wick 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top