Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America

2009-2010 Positions on Veterans Advocacy

Issues: Veterans
State Office District Name Party Rating
J. Gresham Barrett F
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican F
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican F
Steve Buyer F
John Campbell III F
Thomas Coburn F
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic F
Artur Davis F
James DeMint F
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican F
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican F
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican F
Pete Hoekstra F
Tim Johnson F
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican F
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic F
Cynthia Lummis F
NC U.S. House 10 Patrick McHenry Republican F
Ron Paul F
Donald Payne F
George Radanovich F
Aaron Schock F
John Shadegg F
John Sullivan F
Zach Wamp F
Bill Young F
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican D
Todd Akin D
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican D
Rodney Alexander D
Michele Bachmann D
Spencer Bachus D
Kay Bailey Hutchison D
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican D
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican D
Bob Bennett D
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican D
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican D
John Boehner D
Kit Bond D
Jo Bonner, Jr. D
Charles Boustany, Jr. D
Paul Broun D
Henry Brown, Jr. D
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican D
Jim Bunning D
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican D
Dan Burton D
Dave Camp D
Eric Cantor D
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic D
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican D
LA U.S. Senate Sr Bill Cassidy Republican D
Jason Chaffetz D
Saxby Chambliss D
Howard Coble D
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican D
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican D
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican D
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican D
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican D
Ander Crenshaw D
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican D
Lincoln Davis D
David Dreier D
Vern Ehlers D
John Ensign D
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican D
Russ Feingold D
John Fleming, Jr. D
Randy Forbes D
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican D
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican D
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican D
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican D
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican D
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican D
Judd Gregg D
MS U.S. House 3 Gregg Harper Republican D
Doc Hastings D
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican D
NV U.S. Senate Sr Dean Heller Republican D
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican D
Wally Herger, Jr. D
Bob Inglis, Sr. D
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican D
GA U.S. Senate Sr Johnny Isakson Republican D
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican D
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican D
OH U.S. House 4 Jim Jordan Republican D
Jack Kingston D
Jon Kyl D
OH U.S. House 5 Bob Latta Republican D
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic D
John Linder D
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican D
Dick Lugar D
Connie Mack IV D
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican D
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican D
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican D
TX U.S. House 10 Michael McCaul Republican D
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican D
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican D
WA U.S. House 5 Cathy McMorris Rodgers Republican D
John Mica D
Gary Miller D
Jeff Miller D
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican D
Randy Neugebauer D
CA U.S. House 22 Devin Nunes Republican D
TX U.S. House 22 Pete Olson Republican D
MN U.S. House 3 Erik Paulsen Republican D
NA Vice President Mike Pence Republican D
Tom Petri D
Joe Pitts D
FL U.S. House 8 Bill Posey Republican D
NA U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services Tom Price Republican D
Adam Putnam D
ID U.S. Senate Jr James Risch Republican D
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican D
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican D
Mike Rogers D
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican D
IL U.S. House 6 Peter Roskam Republican D
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican D
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican D
LA U.S. House 1 Steve Scalise Republican D
Jean Schmidt D
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican D
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican D
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican D
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican D
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican D
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican D
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican D
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic D
NE U.S. House 3 Adrian Smith Republican D
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican D
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic D
Cliff Stearns D
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican D
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican D
Todd Tiahrt D
David Vitter D
George Voinovich D
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic D
VT U.S. House At-Large Peter Welch Democratic D
Lynn Westmoreland D
Ed Whitfield D
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican D
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican D
VA U.S. House 1 Rob Wittman Republican D
Frank Wolf D
Rob Andrews C
Steve Austria C
Brian Baird C
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic C
Roscoe Bartlett C
Evan Bayh C
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic C
Shelley Berkley C
Judy Biggert C
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican C
Mary Bono Mack C
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican C
Dan Boren C
Bobby Bright C
Corrine Brown C
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican C
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican C
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican C
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican C
Lois Capps C
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic C
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic C
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic C
Mike Castle C
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic C
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic C
CO U.S. House 6 Michael Coffman Republican C
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic C
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican C
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic C
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic C
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic C
Geoff Davis C
Lincoln Diaz-Balart C
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican C
Norm Dicks C
Byron Dorgan C
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican C
Donna Edwards C
Jo Ann Emerson C
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic C
Sam Farr C
Chaka Fattah, Sr. C
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic C
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican C
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican C

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top