Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Gun Owners of California

2003 Positions

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 36 Pat Bates Republican 100%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 0%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 0%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan 0%
CA Supervisor 3 Sheila Kuehl 0%
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson 66%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 0%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 0%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz 0%
CA Council Member 10 Herb Wesson, Jr. 0%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 75%
Samuel Aanestad 100%
Richard Ackerman 100%
Gregory Aghazarian 100%
Richard Alarcón 0%
Deirdre Alpert 0%
Roy Ashburn 100%
James Battin 100%
John Benoit 100%
Patty Berg 0%
Rudy Bermúdez 0%
Russell Bogh 100%
Debra Bowen 25%
James Brulte 100%
John Burton 0%
Ron Calderon 0%
John Campbell III 100%
Joseph Canciamilla 0%
Edward Chavez 0%
Wesley Chesbro 0%
David Cogdill 100%
Rebecca Cohn 0%
Ellen Corbett 25%
Dave Cox 100%
Lynn Daucher 75%
Jeff Denham 100%
Manny Diaz 0%
Denise Ducheny 66%
Joe Dunn 33%
John Anthony Dutra 0%
Robert Dutton 75%
Mervyn Dymally 0%
Martha Escutia 0%
Liz Figueroa 0%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 0%
Dean Florez 100%
Dario Frommer 0%
Bonnie Garcia 75%
Jackie Goldberg 0%
Loni Hancock 0%
Tom Harman 100%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
Jerome Horton 0%
Shirley Horton 75%
Guy Houston 100%
Ross Johnson 100%
Betty Karnette 0%
Richard Keene 100%
Christine Kehoe 0%
William Knight 100%
John Laird 0%
Jay La Suer 100%
Mark Leno 0%
Robert Leslie 100%
Lloyd Levine 0%
Sally Lieber 0%
Carol Liu 0%
John Longville 0%
Michael Machado 0%
Ken Maddox 100%
Abel Maldonado 75%
Bob Margett 100%
Barbara Matthews 25%
Bill Maze 100%
Cindy Montañez 0%
William Phillip Morrow 100%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 75%
Eugene Mullin 0%
Kevin Murray 0%
George Nakano 0%
Joseph Nation 0%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 50%
Fabian Núñez 0%
Thomas Oller 100%
Jenny Oropeza 0%
Deborah Ortiz 0%
Robert Pacheco 100%
Nicole Parra 50%
Fran Pavley 0%
Don Perata 0%
George Plescia 100%
Charles Poochigian 100%
Sarah Reyes 25%
Keith Stuart Richman 50%
Gloria Romero 0%
Sharon Runner 100%
Simón Salinas 25%
Steve Samuelian 100%
Jack Scott 0%
Byron Sher 0%
Nell Soto 0%
Todd Spitzer 100%
Tony Strickland 100%
Tom Torlakson 0%
John Vasconcellos 0%
Edward Vincent 0%
Patricia Wiggins 0%
Lois Wolk 0%
Mark Wyland 100%
Leland Yee 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top