Rating Group: Minnesota AFL-CIO

2009 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office Name Party Rating
MN U.S. House-6 Tom Emmer R 0%
MN Lieutenant Governor Michelle Fischbach R 47%
MN State House-3B Mary Murphy DFL 100%
MN State House-4B Paul Marquart DFL 100%
MN State House-8A Bud Nornes R 21%
MN State House-12B Paul Anderson R 26%
MN State House-16B Paul Torkelson R 11%
MN State House-18A Dean Urdahl R 32%
MN State House-20B David Bly DFL 100%
MN State House-21B Steve Drazkowski R 11%
MN State House-22B Rod Hamilton R 11%
MN State House-23A Bob Gunther R 22%
MN State House-26A Tina Liebling DFL 95%
MN State House-27B Jeanne Poppe DFL 84%
MN State House-28A Pelowski, Jr. DFL 67%
MN State House-28B Greg Davids R 16%
MN State House-34A Joyce Peppin R 5%
MN State House-35B Peggy Scott R 11%
MN State House-36B Melissa Hortman DFL 100%
MN State House-38B Matt Dean R 21%
MN State House-39A Bob Dettmer R 11%
MN State House-40A Michael Nelson DFL 100%
MN State House-40B Debra Hilstrom DFL 100%
MN State House-43B Leon Lillie DFL 100%
MN State House-44A Sarah Anderson R 11%
MN State House-45A Lyndon Carlson, Sr. DFL 100%
MN State House-47B Joe Hoppe R 11%
MN State House-48B Jenifer Loon R 11%
MN State House-49B Paul Rosenthal DFL 89%
MN State House-50A Linda Slocum DFL 100%
MN State House-51A Sandra Masin DFL 95%
MN State House-52A Rick Hansen DFL 100%
MN State House-58B Patrick Garofalo R 16%
MN State House-60A Diane Loeffler DFL 100%
MN State House-61A Frank Hornstein DFL 100%
MN State House-61B Paul Thissen DFL 100%
MN State House-62A Karen Clark DFL 100%
MN State House-63A Jim Davnie DFL 100%
MN State House-63B Jean Wagenius DFL 100%
MN State House-64A Erin Murphy DFL 100%
MN State House-65B Carlos Mariani DFL 100%
MN State House-66A Alice Hausman DFL 95%
MN State House-66B John Lesch DFL 100%
MN State House-67A Tim Mahoney DFL 94%
MN State House-67B Sheldon Johnson DFL 100%
MN State Senate-3 Thomas Bakk DFL 94%
MN State Senate-4 Kent Eken DFL 100%
MN State Senate-6 David Tomassoni DFL 89%
MN State Senate-8 Bill Ingebrigtsen R 28%
MN State Senate-11 Tony Lourey DFL 100%
MN State Senate-12 Torrey Westrom R 21%
MN State Senate-13 Michelle Fischbach R 47%
MN State Senate-23 Julie Rosen R 53%
MN State Senate-25 David Senjem R 39%
MN State Senate-27 Dan Sparks DFL 68%
MN State Senate-29 Bruce Anderson R 0%
MN State Senate-30 Mary Kiffmeyer R 16%
MN State Senate-34 Warren Limmer R 17%
MN State Senate-35 Jim Abeler II R 47%
MN State Senate-37 Jerry Newton DFL 100%
MN State Senate-41 Carolyn Laine DFL 100%
MN State Senate-43 Charles Wiger DFL 100%
MN State Senate-45 Ann Rest DFL 88%
MN State Senate-46 Ronald Latz DFL 89%
MN State Senate-51 Jim Carlson DFL 100%
MN State Senate-54 Karla Bigham DFL 100%
MN State Senate-59 Bobby Joe Champion DFL 100%
MN State Senate-61 D. Scott Dibble DFL 100%
MN State Senate-62 Jeff Hayden DFL 100%
MN State Senate-63 Patricia Torres Ray DFL 100%
MN State Senate-64 Richard Cohen DFL 89%
MN State Senate-65 Sandra Pappas DFL 89%
MN State Senate-66 John Marty DFL 79%
MN Secretary of State Steve Simon DFL 100%
MN Mayor-At-Large Nora Slawik 95%
MN Commissioner-1 Ron Shimanski 0%
MN Commissioner-2 Linda Higgins 95%
MN Commissioner-3 Michael Beard 11%
MN Commissioner-4 Karla Bigham 100%
MN Commissioner-4 Tom Rukavina 100%
MN Commissioner-6 Mary Holberg 11%
MN Commissioner-7 Chris Gerlach R 28%
Ellen Anderson 94%
Tom Anzelc 100%
Joseph Atkins 100%
John Benson 94%
Linda Berglin 89%
Donald Betzold 95%
Terri Bonoff 94%
Laura Brod 11%
Robin Brown 95%
Kathy Brynaert 100%
Mark Buesgens 0%
Julie Bunn 79%
Satveer Chaudhary 100%
Tarryl Clark 100%
Tony Cornish 28%
Kevin Dahle 100%
Richard Day 41%
Randy Demmer 11%
David Dill 95%
Stephen Dille 50%
Denise Dittrich 89%
Connie Doepke 21%
John Doll 94%
Al Doty 100%
Keith Downey 16%
Robert Eastlund 6%
Sharon Erickson Ropes 94%
Andrew Falk 95%
Tim Faust 94%
Lisa Fobbe 94%
Leo Foley 95%
Dennis Frederickson 56%
Patti Fritz 100%
Paul Gardner 95%
Joseph Gimse 50%
Steve Gottwalt 16%
Mindy Greiling 95%
Tom Hackbarth 0%
David Hann 18%
Larry Haws 100%
Bill Hilty 100%
Larry Hosch 100%
Larry Howes 47%
Thomas Huntley 100%
Gail Kulick Jackson 100%
Debbie Johnson 29%
Al Juhnke 100%
Michael Jungbauer 22%
Phyllis Kahn 100%
Jeremy Kalin 100%
Kory Kath 74%
Kenneth Kelash 100%
Margaret Kelliher 100%
Tim Kelly 16%
Katherine Knuth 100%
Amy Koch 22%
Lyle Koenen 100%
Paul Koering 43%
Paul Kohls 11%
Gary Kubly 94%
Keith Langseth 94%
Morrie Lanning 32%
Ann Lenczewski 100%
Bernard Lieder 100%
Ann Lynch 95%
Tara Mack 16%
Doug Magnus 12%
Carol McFarlane 29%
Denny McNamara 26%
Jim Metzen 95%
Geoff Michel 33%
William Morgan 89%
Terence Morrow 100%
Mee Moua 89%
Joe Mullery 100%
Mark Murdock 16%
Steve Murphy 83%
Kim Norton 95%
Mike Obermueller 84%
David Olin 95%
Rick Olseen 100%
Gen Olson 50%
Mary Olson 100%
Julianne Ortman 17%
Mary Otremba 89%
Patricia Pariseau 39%
Michael Paymar 100%
John Persell 100%
Sandra Peterson 89%
Lawrence Pogemiller 89%
Prettner Solon 94%
Roger Reinert 100%
Claire Robling 38%
Sandy Rummel 89%
Maria Ruud 100%
Brita Sailer 100%
Kathy Saltzman 84%
Tim Sanders 21%
Tom Saxhaug 100%
Bev Scalze 95%
Linda Scheid 94%
Marty Seifert 11%
Anthony Sertich 100%
Daniel Severson 6%
Kathy Sheran 89%
Katie Sieben 100%
Rod Skoe 89%
Dan Skogen 94%
Steve Smith 21%
Loren Solberg 100%
Phillip Sterner 84%
LeRoy Stumpf 79%
Marsha Swails 84%
Cy Thao 100%
Tom Tillberry 100%
Ray Vandeveer 18%
James Vickerman 95%
John Ward 100%
Andy Welti 89%
Ryan Winkler 100%
Kurt Zellers 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.