Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)

2009 Lifetime Score

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
Neil Abercrombie 97%
Gary Ackerman 96%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 17%
John Adler 90%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 94%
Todd Akin 10%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 18%
Rodney Alexander 37%
Jason Altmire 95%
Rob Andrews 91%
Michael Arcuri 93%
Steve Austria 19%
Joe Baca, Sr. 98%
Michele Bachmann 7%
Spencer Bachus 13%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 24%
Brian Baird 91%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 99%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 8%
J. Gresham Barrett 7%
John Barrow 83%
Roscoe Bartlett 11%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 8%
Max Baucus 76%
Evan Bayh 92%
Melissa Bean 80%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 94%
Mark Begich 100%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Michael Bennet Democratic 94%
Bob Bennett 9%
Shelley Berkley 94%
Howard Berman 92%
Marion Berry 87%
Joe Biden, Jr. 86%
Judy Biggert 20%
Brian Bilbray 14%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 20%
Jeff Bingaman 86%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 10%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 87%
Tim Bishop 98%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 6%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 93%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 10%
OH State House 59 John Boccieri Democratic 95%
John Boehner 5%
Kit Bond 20%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 9%
Mary Bono Mack 21%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 13%
Dan Boren 61%
Leonard Boswell 88%
Rick Boucher 87%
Charles Boustany, Jr. 16%
Barbara Boxer 96%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 73%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 6%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
Bruce Braley 98%
Bobby Bright 35%
Paul Broun 0%
Corrine Brown 97%
Henry Brown, Jr. 10%
Scott Brown 0%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 10%
Ginny Brown-Waite 23%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 31%
Jim Bunning 12%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 11%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 13%
Roland Burris 94%
Dan Burton 14%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 97%
Steve Buyer 16%
Robert Byrd 79%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 8%
Dave Camp 12%
John Campbell III 7%
Eric Cantor 6%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 91%
Joseph Cao 60%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 47%
Lois Capps 92%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 97%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 96%
Dennis Cardoza 94%
Russ Carnahan 98%
Christopher Carney 92%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 87%
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 99%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 7%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 98%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Bill Cassidy Republican 20%
Mike Castle 35%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 98%
Jason Chaffetz 5%
Saxby Chambliss 15%
Ben Chandler III 91%
Travis Childers 67%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 100%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 96%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 98%
Hillary Clinton 94%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 97%
Howard Coble 13%
Thomas Coburn 16%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 14%
CO U.S. House 6 Michael Coffman Republican 15%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 97%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 12%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 66%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 6%
VA U.S. House 11 Gerry Connolly Democratic 95%
Kent Conrad 87%
John Conyers, Jr. 94%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 82%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 23%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 9%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 93%
Jerry Costello 93%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 98%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 12%
Ander Crenshaw 12%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 93%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 81%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 7%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 98%
Kathy Dahlkemper 90%
Artur Davis 89%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 98%
Geoff Davis 16%
Lincoln Davis 80%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 94%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 13%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 94%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 96%
Bill Delahunt 97%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 97%
James DeMint 11%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 43%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 40%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 30%
Norm Dicks 87%
John Dingell 94%
Chris Dodd 92%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 92%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 85%
Byron Dorgan 91%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle Democratic 97%
David Dreier 5%
Steve Driehaus 90%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 19%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 95%
Donna Edwards 100%
Chet Edwards 80%
Vern Ehlers 19%
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic 97%
Brad Ellsworth 83%
Jo Ann Emerson 36%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 98%
John Ensign 11%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 10%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 92%
Bob Etheridge 91%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 10%
Sam Farr 96%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 97%
Russ Feingold 94%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 88%
Bob Filner 96%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 6%
John Fleming, Jr. 10%
Randy Forbes 15%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 20%
IL U.S. House 11 Bill Foster Democratic 88%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 9%
Barney Frank 95%
MN U.S. Senate Jr Al Franken Democratic 100%
Trent Franks 4%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 16%
OH U.S. House 11 Marcia Fudge Democratic 100%
Elton Gallegly 13%
CA U.S. House 3 John Garamendi Democratic 100%
Scott Garrett 8%
Jim Gerlach 46%
Gabrielle Giffords 92%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 93%
Phil Gingrey 8%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 10%
Charlie Gonzalez 91%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 10%
Bart Gordon 83%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 15%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 7%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 15%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 21%
Alan Grayson 100%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top