Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Montana AFL-CIO

2001 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
MT U.S. Senate Sr Jon Tester Democratic 73%
MT State House 73 Jim Keane Democratic 91%
MT State Senate 2 Dee Brown Republican 36%
MT State Senate 5 Bob Keenan Republican 18%
MT State Senate 16 Frank Smith Democratic 91%
MT State Senate 44 Fred Thomas Republican 27%
MT State Senate 50 Tom Facey Democratic 82%
MT Secretary of State Corey Stapleton Republican 27%
Joan Andersen 18%
Keith Bales 18%
Joe Balyeat 9%
Debby Barrett 18%
Rodney Bitney 18%
Norma Bixby 82%
John Bohlinger 36%
Sylvia Bookout-Reinicke 54%
Gary Branae 82%
Roy Brown 27%
John Brueggeman 18%
Edward Butcher 40%
Rosalie Buzzas 91%
Terrence Callahan 91%
Eileen Carney 82%
Edith Clark 18%
Paul Clark 91%
John Cobb 64%
Vicki Cocchiarella 100%
Aubyn Curtiss 18%
Larry Cyr 82%
Robert DePratu 27%
Ronald Devlin 18%
Jon Ellingson 91%
Jim Elliott 91%
Ron Erickson 82%
John Esp 9%
Stanley Fisher 27%
Gary Forrester 64%
Eve Franklin 82%
Nancy Rice Fritz 91%
Daniel Clint Fuchs 20%
David Gallik 91%
Steven Gallus 100%
Kathleen Galvin-Halcro 91%
Kim Gillan 82%
William Glaser 36%
George Golie 91%
Duane Grimes 45%
Gail Gutsche 91%
Richard Haines 36%
Dan Harrington 100%
Christopher Kirk Harris 82%
Donald Hedges 27%
Verdell Jackson 9%
Hal Jacobson 73%
Joey Jayne 82%
Larry Jent 82%
Royal Johnson 27%
Carol Juneau 80%
Dave Kasten 9%
Christine Kaufmann 91%
Sam Kitzenberg 70%
Richard Laible 18%
Jesse Laslovich 91%
Jeff Laszloffy 18%
Bob Lawson 54%
Larry Lehman 18%
Ralph Lenhart 100%
Dave Lewis 45%
Monica Lindeen 82%
Dale Mahlum 40%
Jeff Mangan 100%
Gary Matthews 73%
Bea McCarthy 100%
Daniel McGee 9%
Joe McKenney 18%
Walter McNutt 36%
Doug Mood 27%
John Musgrove 100%
Linda Nelson 80%
Brad Newman 82%
Mark Noennig 36%
Alan Olson 18%
Jerry O'Neil 9%
Jeffrey Pattison 9%
Gerald Pease 91%
Holly Raser 82%
Diane Rice 18%
Rick Ripley 27%
N. Allen Rome 27%
Glenn Roush 91%
Don Ryan 100%
Trudi Schmidt 82%
Clarice Schrumpf 27%
Debbie Bowman Shea 91%
Jim Shockley 36%
Mike Sprague 36%
Donald Steinbeisser 18%
Emily Stonington 80%
Robert Story, Jr. 18%
Bill Tash 36%
Mike Taylor 30%
William Thomas 27%
Kenneth Toole, Jr. 91%
Joseph Tropila 100%
Karl Waitschies 9%
David Wanzenried 82%
John Witt 9%
Cindy Younkin 27%
Tom Zook 45%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top