Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Children's Defense Fund

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 33%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 27%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 44%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 44%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 91%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 89%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 44%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 89%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 78%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 44%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 78%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 89%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 56%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 89%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 36%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 33%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 78%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 89%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 56%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 100%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 18%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 33%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 9%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 56%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 89%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 89%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 78%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 89%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 45%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 89%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 89%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 56%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 44%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 22%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 44%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 100%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 33%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 89%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 89%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 56%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 89%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 78%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 78%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 56%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 78%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 67%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 78%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 56%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 33%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 56%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 45%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 9%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 56%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 78%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 78%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 89%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 33%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 56%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 33%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 56%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 44%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 89%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 89%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 89%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 78%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 78%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 44%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 100%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 27%
Neil Abercrombie 78%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 36%
Gary Ackerman 89%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Wayne Allard 36%
Thomas Allen 100%
Rob Andrews 56%
Bill Archer 33%
Richard Armey 33%
John Ashcroft 9%
Spencer Bachus 44%
Henry Scott Baesler 44%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 27%
Richard Hugh Baker 44%
Cass Ballenger 33%
James Barcia 78%
Bob Barr, Jr. 33%
Bill Barrett 56%
Roscoe Bartlett 44%
Joe Barton 22%
Charlie Bass 56%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 33%
Max Baucus 82%
Bob Bennett 36%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 78%
Douglas Bereuter 56%
Howard Berman 100%
Marion Berry 89%
Joe Biden, Jr. 91%
Brian Bilbray 56%
Michael Bilirakis 56%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
Rod Blagojevich 78%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 44%
Sherwood Boehlert 56%
John Boehner 44%
Kit Bond 36%
Henry Bonilla 33%
David Edward Bonior 100%
Robert Borski, Jr. 67%
Leonard Boswell 78%
Rick Boucher 67%
Barbara Boxer 100%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 67%
John Breaux 64%
Corrine Brown 100%
George Brown, Jr. 100%
Sam Brownback 27%
Richard Bryan 91%
Ed Bryant 33%
Dale Bumpers 100%
Jim Bunning 56%
Conrad Burns 27%
Dan Burton 44%
Steve Buyer 44%
Robert Byrd 82%
Herbert Callahan 44%
Dave Camp 56%
Ben Campbell 45%
Thomas Campbell 78%
Chris Cannon 44%
Julia Carson 100%
Mike Castle 56%
John Chafee 82%
Saxby Chambliss 56%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 33%
Jon Lynn Christensen 56%
William Clay, Sr. 44%
Eva Clayton 100%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 73%
Robert Clement 78%
Dan Coats 18%
Howard Coble 22%
Thomas Coburn 22%
Thad Cochran 27%
Michael Collins 33%
Larry Combest 33%
Gary Condit 67%
Kent Conrad 100%
John Conyers, Jr. 78%
Merrill Cook 56%
John Cooksey 56%
Jerry Costello 67%
Paul Coverdell 27%
Christopher Cox 33%
William Coyne 100%
Larry Craig 27%
Robert Cramer 56%
Philip Crane 33%
Barbara Cubin 33%
Randall Cunningham 56%
Alfonse D'Amato 73%
Patsy Ann Danner 67%
Thomas Daschle 100%
James Davis 89%
Thomas Davis III 56%
Nathan Deal 44%
Bill Delahunt 89%
Thomas DeLay 44%
Peter Deutsch 78%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 56%
Jay Dickey 33%
Norm Dicks 78%
John Dingell 78%
Julian Dixon 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 27%
Calvin Dooley 67%
John Doolittle 22%
Byron Dorgan 100%
David Dreier 44%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top