Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Utah Education Association

1999 Positions

Issues: Education
State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State House 36 Patrice Arent Democratic 100%
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 67%
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 60%
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 33%
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 75%
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 100%
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 100%
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 50%
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 60%
UT Mayor Jackie Biskupski Democratic 100%
UT Council Member At-Large David Ure 40%
UT Council Member North Craig Buttars Republican 20%
Gerry Adair 40%
Jeff Alexander 33%
D. Edgar Allen 67%
Ron Allen 67%
Sheryl Allen 100%
Eli Anderson 75%
Loretta Baca 75%
Lane Beattie 67%
Trisha Beck 100%
Ralph Becker 100%
Chad Bennion 60%
Leonard Blackham 100%
Duane Bourdeaux 100%
DeMar Bowman 50%
Afton Bradshaw 100%
Melvin Brown 20%
Katherine Bryson 20%
Perry Buckner 80%
Judy Ann Buffmire 80%
Don Bush 40%
Mary Carlson 100%
Blake Chard 40%
David Cox 100%
Gary Cox 100%
Greg Curtis 60%
Marda Dillree 33%
Mike Dmitrich 67%
Carl Duckworth 80%
Beverly Ann Evans 100%
R. Mont Evans 0%
Ben Ferry 40%
Fred Fife III 100%
Lloyd Frandsen 80%
Kevin Garn 40%
David Gladwell 50%
Brent Goodfellow 80%
James Gowans 100%
Karen Hale 67%
Neil Hansen 100%
Thomas Hatch 33%
Parley Hellewell 33%
Neal Hendrickson 100%
John Hickman 75%
Dave Hogue 50%
Kory Holdaway 80%
Bryan Holladay 60%
Scott Howell 67%
Joseph Hull 67%
Dennis Iverson 20%
Bradley Johnson 20%
Keele Johnson 80%
David Jones 100%
Lorin Jones 100%
Paula Julander 67%
Brad King 100%
Susan Koehn 33%
Becky Lockhart 20%
L. Alma Mansell 50%
Ed Mayne 67%
Robert Montgomery 100%
Karen Morgan 100%
Robert Muhlestein 33%
Joseph Murray 80%
Lowell Allen Nelson 75%
Howard Nielson 33%
Evan Olsen 0%
Loraine Pace 60%
Millie Peterson 67%
L. Steven Poulton 0%
Carl Saunders 80%
Jack Seitz 40%
Raymond Short 60%
LaWanna Shurtliff 100%
Richard Siddoway 100%
Gordon Snow 40%
Marlon Snow 75%
Terry Spencer 67%
David Steele 100%
Martin Stephens 40%
Nora Thurgood Stephens 20%
Michael Styler 80%
Pete Suazo 67%
John Swallow 20%
Jordan Tanner 80%
J. Matthew Throckmorton 20%
A. Lamont Tyler 100%
Michael Waddoups 33%
Richard Walsh 20%
Glenn Way 20%
Bill Wright 25%
David Zolman, Sr. 40%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top