Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

1998 Positions on Gun Rights

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
MI U.S. Senate Jr Gary Peters Democratic B
MI State Senate 15 Mike Kowall Republican A
MI State Senate 31 Mike Green Republican A+
MI Attorney General Bill Schuette Republican B
MI Secretary of State Ruth Johnson Republican A
MI Council Member Ward 3 Joanne Voorhees Republican A
MI Commissioner 3 Martha Scott F
MI Commissioner 9 Dale Shugars Republican A
MI Commissioner 11 Michael Hanley C
MI Commissioner 14 Raymond Basham C
Jason Allen B
Laura Baird F
Loren Bennett A+
Patricia Birkholz C
Michael Bishop A
Rose Bogardus C
Douglas Bovin A
Ken Bradstreet A
Elizabeth Brater D-
Lingg Brewer A
Bob Brown A
Cameron Brown A
Willis Bullard, Jr. A++
William Byl C-
Dianne Byrum B+
William Callahan B+
Nancy Cassis B+
Sandra Caul A
Deborah Cherry B
John Cherry, Jr. A++
Kenneth Daniels B
Kenneth DeBeaussaert A
Dan DeGrow A-
Eileen DeHart A++
Gene DeRossett A
Larry DeVuyst A+
Paul DeWeese A
Christopher Dingell A++
Mat Dunaskiss A++
Stephen Ehardt D
Robert Emerson C-
Joanne Gregory Emmons A-
Jennifer Faunce A
A. T. Frank A
Harry Gast B+
Terry Geiger B+
Judson Gilbert II A
Michael Goschka A+
Robert Gosselin A
Joel Gougeon A++
Lauren Hager D
Derrick Hale D
Beverly Hammerstrom A
John Hansen F
Doug Hart A
George Zaven Hart D
Philip Edward Hoffman A++
Jim Howell D
Mark Jansen C
David Jaye A++
Ron Jelinek A
Jon Jellema B
Rick Johnson A
Larry Julian B+
Kwame Kilpatrick D-
James Koetje A
Don Koivisto A
Wayne Kuipers D
Janet Kukuk A
Edward LaForge C
Charles LaSata A
Gerald Law C
Burton Leland B-
George Mans C-
Lynne Martinez F
Thaddeus McCotter A
George McManus, Jr. A
David Mead A
Mary Ann Middaugh B
Arthur Miller, Jr. A
Mickey Mortimer A
Andy Neumann B
Walter North A
John Pappageorge A
Bruce Patterson A
Charles Perricone A++
Steven Pestka A
Hubert Price, Jr. D-
Michael Prusi A
Ray Raczkowski A+
Randy Richardville A
Andrew Richner C
Joseph Rivet D
Sue Rocca A+
Mike Rogers A+
Alan Sanborn A
Mark Schauer C
Gloria Schermesser B
John Schwarz C
Judith Scranton B
Scott Shackleton A
Dale Sheltrown A
Marc Shulman A
Kenneth Sikkema A-
Alma Smith D
Virgil Clark Smith, Jr. C+
Keith Stallworth D
Tony Stamas C
Glenn Steil, Jr. A+
Leon Stille A
Susan Tabor A
Paul Tesanovich A+
Jerry Vander Roest A
William VanRegenmorter A
Gerald Van Woerkom A
Edward Vaughn C
Jackie Vaughn III F
Steve Vear A
Paul Wojno D
Gary Woronchak A

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top