Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: NETWORK, A National Catholic Social Justice Lobby

1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 40%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 13%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 53%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 33%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 73%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 73%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 85%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 73%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 73%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 71%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 87%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 33%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 69%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 80%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 80%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 27%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 80%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 71%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 40%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 73%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 71%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 20%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 47%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 80%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 86%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 87%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 40%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 73%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 13%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 40%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 13%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 47%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 77%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 79%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 87%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 73%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 67%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 73%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 40%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 80%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 73%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 47%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 80%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 27%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 36%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 93%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 23%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 80%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 73%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 53%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 80%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 80%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 77%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 27%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 79%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 87%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 87%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 73%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 87%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 80%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 93%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 27%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 20%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 86%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 20%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 20%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 33%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 87%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 71%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 93%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 93%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 80%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 53%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 73%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 27%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 27%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 27%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 33%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 73%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 64%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 79%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 73%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 87%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 93%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 73%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 73%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 80%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 33%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 80%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 13%
Neil Abercrombie 87%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 33%
Gary Ackerman 73%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 71%
Wayne Allard 27%
Thomas Allen 73%
Rob Andrews 80%
Bill Archer 20%
Richard Armey 27%
John Ashcroft 33%
Spencer Bachus 40%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 14%
Richard Hugh Baker 27%
Cass Ballenger 33%
James Barcia 80%
Bob Barr, Jr. 40%
Bill Barrett 27%
Roscoe Bartlett 43%
Joe Barton 20%
Charlie Bass 27%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 27%
Max Baucus 86%
Bob Bennett 27%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 67%
Douglas Bereuter 27%
Howard Berman 71%
Marion Berry 73%
Joe Biden, Jr. 73%
Brian Bilbray 53%
Michael Bilirakis 40%
Jeff Bingaman 67%
Rod Blagojevich 73%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 20%
Sherwood Boehlert 60%
John Boehner 21%
Kit Bond 13%
Henry Bonilla 40%
David Edward Bonior 87%
Mary Bono Mack 31%
Robert Borski, Jr. 80%
Leonard Boswell 60%
Rick Boucher 87%
Barbara Boxer 73%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 80%
Bob Brady 75%
John Breaux 73%
Corrine Brown 80%
Sam Brownback 13%
Richard Bryan 87%
Ed Bryant 33%
Jim Bunning 33%
Conrad Burns 13%
Dan Burton 36%
Steve Buyer 40%
Robert Byrd 73%
Herbert Callahan 33%
Dave Camp 33%
Ben Campbell 27%
Thomas Campbell 53%
Chris Cannon 21%
Lois Capps 71%
Julia Carson 87%
Mike Castle 40%
John Chafee 47%
Saxby Chambliss 29%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 53%
William Clay, Sr. 85%
Eva Clayton 87%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 73%
Robert Clement 80%
Howard Coble 43%
Thomas Coburn 36%
Thad Cochran 13%
Michael Collins 27%
Larry Combest 33%
Gary Condit 67%
Kent Conrad 87%
John Conyers, Jr. 93%
Merrill Cook 40%
John Cooksey 33%
Jerry Costello 87%
Paul Coverdell 15%
Christopher Cox 21%
William Coyne 73%
Larry Craig 20%
Robert Cramer 86%
Philip Crane 13%
Barbara Cubin 27%
Randall Cunningham 33%
Patsy Ann Danner 80%
Thomas Daschle 80%
James Davis 60%
Thomas Davis III 20%
Nathan Deal 40%
Bill Delahunt 87%
Thomas DeLay 20%
Peter Deutsch 67%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 40%
Jay Dickey 40%
Norm Dicks 73%
John Dingell 79%
Julian Dixon 86%
Chris Dodd 73%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 8%
Calvin Dooley 73%
John Doolittle 27%
Byron Dorgan 87%
David Dreier 27%
John Duncan, Jr. 47%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top