Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Trust for Historic Preservation

2005 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 75%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 50%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 100%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Johnny Isakson Republican 75%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 50%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 50%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 50%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 50%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 75%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 100%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 25%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 100%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 50%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 0%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 75%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 50%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 25%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Wayne Allard 50%
George Allen 75%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 50%
Max Baucus 100%
Evan Bayh 75%
Bob Bennett 50%
Joe Biden, Jr. 100%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
Kit Bond 75%
Barbara Boxer 100%
Sam Brownback 0%
Jim Bunning 50%
Conrad Burns 50%
Robert Byrd 100%
Lincoln Chafee 100%
Saxby Chambliss 75%
Hillary Clinton 100%
Thomas Coburn 25%
Thad Cochran 50%
Norm Coleman 100%
Kent Conrad 100%
Jon Corzine 100%
Larry Craig 50%
Mark Dayton 100%
James DeMint 0%
Chris Dodd 100%
Elizabeth Dole 75%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 75%
Byron Dorgan 100%
John Ensign 50%
Russ Feingold 75%
William Frist 25%
Judd Gregg 0%
Charles Hagel 25%
Tom Harkin 100%
Orrin Hatch 50%
Daniel Inouye 100%
James Merrill Jeffords 100%
Timothy Johnson 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
John Kerry 100%
Herb Kohl 75%
Jon Kyl 0%
Mary Landrieu 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
Carl Levin 100%
Joe Lieberman 75%
Blanche Lincoln 100%
Trent Lott, Sr. 50%
Dick Lugar 75%
Melquiades Martinez 75%
John McCain III 0%
Barbara Mikulski 100%
Ben Nelson 100%
Bill Nelson, Sr. 100%
Barack Obama II 100%
Mark Pryor 100%
Harry Reid 100%
Jay Rockefeller IV 100%
Ken Salazar 100%
Rick Santorum 75%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
Jeff Sessions III 25%
Gordon Smith 75%
Olympia Snowe 75%
Arlen Specter 75%
Ted Stevens 50%
John Sununu 0%
James Talent 75%
Craig Thomas 25%
David Vitter 75%
George Voinovich 100%
John Warner 75%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top