Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Citizens United for Rehabilitation of Errants

1997-1998 Positions

Issues: Crime
State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 22%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 30%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 44%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 70%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 70%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 70%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 30%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 30%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 90%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 89%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 70%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 33%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 40%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 75%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 55%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 70%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 67%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 30%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 77%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 70%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 30%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 70%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 30%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 40%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 60%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 70%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 60%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 60%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 44%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 70%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 50%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 70%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 50%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 40%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 40%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 40%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 80%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 40%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 50%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 40%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 30%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 50%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 40%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 30%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 40%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 70%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 55%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 55%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 70%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 50%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 20%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 60%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 50%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 30%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 50%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 40%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 60%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 70%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 50%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 30%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 70%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 30%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 30%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 70%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 70%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 60%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 90%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 70%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 30%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 50%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 30%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 70%
Neil Abercrombie 60%
Gary Ackerman 67%
Thomas Allen 60%
Rob Andrews 20%
Bill Archer 44%
Richard Armey 50%
Spencer Bachus 50%
Richard Hugh Baker 40%
Cass Ballenger 50%
James Barcia 30%
Bob Barr, Jr. 55%
Bill Barrett 33%
Roscoe Bartlett 30%
Joe Barton 60%
Charlie Bass 40%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 44%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 20%
Douglas Bereuter 20%
Howard Berman 67%
Marion Berry 50%
Brian Bilbray 30%
Michael Bilirakis 30%
Rod Blagojevich 40%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 44%
Sherwood Boehlert 40%
John Boehner 50%
Henry Bonilla 38%
David Edward Bonior 70%
Mary Bono Mack 25%
Robert Borski, Jr. 40%
Leonard Boswell 30%
Rick Boucher 44%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 50%
Bob Brady 86%
Corrine Brown 77%
George Brown, Jr. 56%
Ed Bryant 30%
Jim Bunning 30%
Dan Burton 40%
Steve Buyer 60%
Herbert Callahan 40%
Dave Camp 40%
Thomas Campbell 50%
Chris Cannon 44%
Lois Capps 50%
Julia Carson 70%
Mike Castle 40%
Saxby Chambliss 30%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 10%
William Clay, Sr. 80%
Eva Clayton 70%
Robert Clement 50%
Howard Coble 40%
Thomas Coburn 40%
Michael Collins 33%
Larry Combest 40%
Gary Condit 40%
John Conyers, Jr. 100%
Merrill Cook 30%
John Cooksey 40%
Jerry Costello 43%
Christopher Cox 40%
William Coyne 70%
Robert Cramer 40%
Philip Crane 50%
Barbara Cubin 40%
Randall Cunningham 38%
Patsy Ann Danner 30%
James Davis 80%
Thomas Davis III 50%
Nathan Deal 50%
Bill Delahunt 70%
Thomas DeLay 56%
Peter Deutsch 40%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 33%
Jay Dickey 30%
Norm Dicks 60%
John Dingell 50%
Julian Dixon 78%
Calvin Dooley 60%
John Doolittle 40%
David Dreier 30%
John Duncan, Jr. 60%
Jennifer Dunn 33%
Chet Edwards 50%
Vern Ehlers 70%
Bob Ehrlich, Jr. 50%
Jo Ann Emerson 30%
Philip English 30%
Bob Etheridge 30%
Lane Evans 60%
Terry Everett 40%
Thomas Ewing 40%
Sam Farr 77%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 90%
Bob Filner 77%
Mark Foley 50%
Michael Patrick Forbes 30%
Harold Ford, Jr. 70%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 25%
Tillie Fowler 50%
Barney Frank 77%
Robert Franks 40%
Rodney Frelinghuysen 30%
Jonas Frost III 40%
Elton Gallegly 30%
John Ganske 30%
Sam Gejdenson 50%
George Gekas 40%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 44%
Jim Gibbons 25%
Wayne Gilchrest 40%
Paul Gillmor 30%
Benjamin Gilman 60%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 30%
Bob Goodlatte 30%
William Goodling 30%
Bart Gordon 30%
Porter Goss 50%
Gene Green 40%
James Greenwood 55%
Luis Gutiérrez 55%
Gilbert Gutknecht 50%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top