Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: West Virginians Against Government Waste

2006 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
WV State House 5 David Pethtel Democratic 10%
WV State House 6 William Romine Republican 40%
WV State House 8 Bill Anderson, Jr. Republican 60%
WV State House 18 Kelli Sobonya Republican 70%
WV State House 22 Jeff Eldridge Democratic 13%
WV State House 34 Brent Boggs Democratic 10%
WV State House 40 Tim Armstead Republican 100%
WV State House 43 William Hartman Democratic 0%
WV State House 45 Bill Hamilton Republican 30%
WV State House 48 Richard Iaquinta Democratic 10%
WV State House 48 Timothy Miley Democratic 11%
WV State House 50 Mike Caputo Democratic 0%
WV State House 50 Linda Longstreth Democratic 0%
WV State House 51 Cindy Frich Republican 80%
WV State House 54 Allen Evans Republican 20%
WV State House 57 Ruth Rowan Republican 70%
WV State House 62 John Overington Republican 100%
WV State Senate 4 Mitchell Carmichael Republican 80%
WV State Senate 13 Bob Beach Democratic 10%
WV State Senate 15 Craig Blair Republican 70%
WV State Senate 15 Charles Trump IV Republican 40%
WV State Senate 17 Corey Palumbo Democratic 10%
WV Commissioner At-Large Tim Ennis 10%
WV Commissioner At-Large Harold Michael 10%
WV Commissioner At-Large Scott Varner 0%
WV State Board of Education Thomas Campbell 10%
WV State Board of Education David Perry 10%
Constantino Amores, Jr. 10%
Sam Argento 10%
Bob Ashley 50%
Tom Azinger 10%
Larry Barker 20%
J.D. Beane 10%
Larry Border 70%
Bonnie Brown 22%
Dwight Richard Browning 10%
Greg Butcher 25%
Samuel Cann, Sr. 10%
Ray Canterbury, Jr. 70%
Kevin Craig 10%
Gerald Crosier 10%
Joe DeLong 10%
John Doyle 10%
Walter Duke 80%
John Ellem 40%
Joe Ferrell 0%
Ronald Fragale 20%
Eustace Frederick 10%
Mike Hall 50%
Barbara Hatfield 20%
Nancy Houston 14%
Greg Howard 70%
Lidella Hrutkay 20%
Mark Hunt 10%
Robert Kiss 10%
Kerry Steven Kominar 10%
Patrick Lane 100%
Margarette Leach 22%
Otis Leggett 60%
Marshall Long 10%
William Louisos 80%
Virginia Mahan 10%
Tim Manchin 0%
Charlene Marshall 10%
Dale Martin 20%
Clif Moore 22%
Jim Morgan 10%
Brady Paxton 10%
Don Perdue 10%
John Pino 10%
Mary Poling 20%
Mike Porter, Sr. 70%
Bill Proudfoot 10%
Victor Roberts, Jr. 60%
Robert Schadler 50%
Patti Schoen 40%
Sharon Spencer 33%
Douglas Stalnaker 10%
W. Richard Staton 10%
William Stemple 10%
Dale Stephens 11%
Deborah Stevens 60%
Linda Sumner 70%
Sally Matz Susman 30%
Randy Swartzmiller 10%
Robert Tabb 11%
Joe Talbott 10%
Jeff Tansill 60%
Rick Thompson 0%
Ron Thompson, Jr. 0%
Kenneth Tucker 11%
Christopher Wakim 40%
Ronald Walters, Sr. 80%
Carrie Webster 0%
Danny Wells 10%
Harry White 10%
L. Gil White 30%
Larry Williams 10%
Locke Wysong 11%
H. Jack Yost, Jr. 10%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top