Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Public Interest Research Group

2005 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 19%
Richard Ackerman 14%
Gregory Aghazarian 12%
Richard Alarcón 81%
Elaine Alquist 100%
Juan Arambula 75%
Roy Ashburn 24%
CA Mayor Pro Tempore At-Large Joe Baca, Jr. 94%
James Battin 19%
John Benoit 12%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 94%
Sam Blakeslee 19%
Russell Bogh 12%
Debra Bowen 81%
Ron Calderon 75%
Joseph Canciamilla 81%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 95%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan 100%
Edward Chavez 88%
Wesley Chesbro 95%
David Cogdill 12%
Rebecca Cohn 100%
Joe Coto 100%
Dave Cox 19%
Lynn Daucher 19%
Hector De La Torre 100%
Charles DeVore 12%
Denise Ducheny 85%
Joe Dunn 100%
Robert Dutton 20%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Bill Emmerson 12%
Martha Escutia 79%
Noreen Evans 100%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Dean Florez 76%
Dario Frommer 100%
Bonnie Garcia 19%
Jackie Goldberg 94%
Loni Hancock 100%
Tom Harman 12%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 7%
Dennis Hollingsworth 10%
Jerome Horton 93%
Shirley Horton 38%
Guy Houston 12%
Robert Huff 12%
Dave Jones 100%
Betty Karnette 100%
Richard Keene 12%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Johan Klehs 100%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz 100%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 12%
Mark Leno 100%
Robert Leslie 12%
Lloyd Levine 93%
Sally Lieber 100%
Carol Liu 100%
Michael Machado 76%
Abel Maldonado 29%
Bob Margett 15%
Barbara Matthews 75%
Bill Maze 12%
Carole Migden 90%
Cindy Montañez 94%
William Phillip Morrow 10%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 12%
Eugene Mullin 88%
Kevin Murray 60%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 20%
Joseph Nation 94%
Pedro Nava 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 94%
Roger Niello 12%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 87%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
Nicole Parra 69%
Fran Pavley 100%
Don Perata 100%
George Plescia 12%
Charles Poochigian 19%
Keith Stuart Richman 19%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 93%
Gloria Romero 95%
George Runner, Jr. 14%
Sharon Runner 12%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 95%
Nell Soto 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer 12%
Audra Strickland 12%
Alberto Torrico 94%
Van Tran 12%
Thomas Umberg 100%
Mike Villines 12%
Edward Vincent 100%
Lois Wolk 93%
Mark Wyland 12%
Leland Yee 100%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 100%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 24%
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 12%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 12%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 24%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 12%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top