Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Shareholders Association

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 100%
Wayne Allard 100%
George Allen 100%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 100%
Bob Bennett 100%
Kit Bond 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 100%
Ben Campbell 100%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 100%
Norm Coleman 100%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 100%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 100%
Elizabeth Dole 100%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 100%
John Ensign 100%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 100%
Peter Fitzgerald 100%
William Frist 100%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 100%
Charles Hagel 100%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 100%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 100%
Jon Kyl 100%
Trent Lott, Sr. 100%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 100%
Zell Bryan Miller 100%
Don Nickles 100%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 100%
Rick Santorum 100%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 100%
Gordon Smith 100%
Arlen Specter 100%
John Sununu 100%
James Talent 100%
Craig Thomas 100%
John Warner 100%
Saxby Chambliss 91%
Larry Craig 91%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 91%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 91%
Judd Gregg 91%
Dick Lugar 91%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 91%
Ted Stevens 91%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 82%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 82%
George Voinovich 82%
Ben Nelson 73%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 55%
Lincoln Chafee 45%
Blanche Lincoln 45%
Mary Landrieu 36%
Olympia Snowe 36%
Max Baucus 27%
Evan Bayh 27%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 27%
Mark Pryor 27%
John Breaux 18%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 18%
Kent Conrad 18%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 18%
James Merrill Jeffords 18%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 18%
Carl Levin 18%
Joe Lieberman 18%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 18%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. Democratic 18%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 18%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 18%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 18%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 9%
Jeff Bingaman 9%
Barbara Boxer 9%
Robert Byrd 9%
Hillary Clinton 9%
Jon Corzine 9%
Thomas Daschle 9%
Chris Dodd 9%
Byron Dorgan 9%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 9%
Daniel Graham 9%
Ernest Hollings 9%
Herb Kohl 9%
Frank Lautenberg 9%
Barbara Mikulski 9%
Harry Reid 9%
Joe Biden, Jr. 0%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
John Edwards 0%
Russ Feingold 0%
Tom Harkin 0%
Daniel Inouye 0%
Timothy Johnson 0%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 0%
John Kerry 0%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 0%
Jay Rockefeller IV 0%
Paul Sarbanes 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top