Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Shareholders Association

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 9%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 100%
Wayne Allard 100%
George Allen 100%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 100%
Max Baucus 27%
Evan Bayh 27%
Bob Bennett 100%
Joe Biden, Jr. 0%
Jeff Bingaman 9%
Kit Bond 100%
Barbara Boxer 9%
John Breaux 18%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 100%
Robert Byrd 9%
Ben Campbell 100%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 18%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 27%
Lincoln Chafee 45%
Saxby Chambliss 91%
Hillary Clinton 9%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 100%
Norm Coleman 100%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 82%
Kent Conrad 18%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 100%
Jon Corzine 9%
Larry Craig 91%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 91%
Thomas Daschle 9%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 100%
Chris Dodd 9%
Elizabeth Dole 100%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 100%
Byron Dorgan 9%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 9%
John Edwards 0%
John Ensign 100%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 100%
Russ Feingold 0%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 18%
Peter Fitzgerald 100%
William Frist 100%
Daniel Graham 9%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 91%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 100%
Judd Gregg 91%
Charles Hagel 100%
Tom Harkin 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 100%
Ernest Hollings 9%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 100%
Daniel Inouye 0%
James Merrill Jeffords 18%
Timothy Johnson 0%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 0%
John Kerry 0%
Herb Kohl 9%
Jon Kyl 100%
Mary Landrieu 36%
Frank Lautenberg 9%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 18%
Carl Levin 18%
Joe Lieberman 18%
Blanche Lincoln 45%
Trent Lott, Sr. 100%
Dick Lugar 91%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 55%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 100%
Barbara Mikulski 9%
Zell Bryan Miller 100%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 91%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 18%
Ben Nelson 73%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. Democratic 18%
Don Nickles 100%
Mark Pryor 27%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 0%
Harry Reid 9%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 100%
Jay Rockefeller IV 0%
Rick Santorum 100%
Paul Sarbanes 0%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 18%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 100%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 82%
Gordon Smith 100%
Olympia Snowe 36%
Arlen Specter 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 18%
Ted Stevens 91%
John Sununu 100%
James Talent 100%
Craig Thomas 100%
George Voinovich 82%
John Warner 100%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 18%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top