Rating Group: California Chamber of Commerce

2006 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 94%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 94%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 94%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 13%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 94%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 24%
CA U.S. House-33 Ted Lieu D 24%
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 24%
CA U.S. House-45 Mimi Walters R 94%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 27%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 29%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 19%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan 19%
CA Supervisor-3 Sheila Kuehl 25%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer 100%
CA Supervisor-5 Joe Simitian N/A 29%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo 33%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz 13%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 100%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Other 20%
Samuel Aanestad 94%
Richard Ackerman 94%
Gregory Aghazarian 100%
Richard Alarcón 25%
Elaine Alquist 27%
Juan Arambula 27%
Roy Ashburn 100%
Joe Baca, Sr. 29%
James Battin 93%
John Benoit 94%
Patty Berg 18%
Rudy Bermúdez 24%
Sam Blakeslee 94%
Russell Bogh 94%
Debra Bowen 27%
Ron Calderon 63%
Joseph Canciamilla 65%
Edward Chavez 47%
Wesley Chesbro 13%
David Cogdill 94%
Rebecca Cohn 29%
Joe Coto 24%
Dave Cox 94%
Lynn Daucher 94%
Hector De La Torre 24%
Charles DeVore 94%
Denise Ducheny 27%
Joe Dunn 19%
Robert Dutton 100%
Mervyn Dymally 18%
Bill Emmerson 100%
Martha Escutia 25%
Noreen Evans 24%
Robert Figueroa 23%
Dean Florez 38%
Dario Frommer 29%
Bonnie Garcia 100%
Jackie Goldberg 19%
Loni Hancock 18%
Tom Harman 92%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 94%
Dennis Hollingsworth 88%
Jerome Horton 24%
Shirley Horton 88%
Guy Houston 94%
Robert Huff 94%
Dave Jones 24%
Betty Karnette 24%
Richard Keene 94%
Christine Kehoe 25%
Johan Klehs 25%
John Laird 24%
Jay La Suer 94%
Mark Leno 24%
Robert Leslie 93%
Lloyd Levine 24%
Sally Lieber 24%
Carol Liu 19%
Michael Machado 43%
Abel Maldonado 94%
Bob Margett 94%
Barbara Matthews 82%
Bill Maze 100%
Carole Migden 20%
Cindy Montañez 24%
William Phillip Morrow 92%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 100%
Eugene Mullin 18%
Kevin Murray 33%
Joseph Nation 25%
Pedro Nava 25%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 33%
Roger Niello 100%
Fabian Núñez 24%
Jenny Oropeza 13%
Deborah Ortiz 29%
Nicole Parra 93%
Fran Pavley 24%
Don Perata 25%
George Plescia 94%
Charles Poochigian 94%
Keith Stuart Richman 94%
Gloria Romero 25%
George Runner, Jr. 100%
Sharon Runner 94%
Ira Ruskin 18%
Lori Saldaña 24%
Simón Salinas 24%
Jack Scott 25%
Nell Soto 20%
Audra Strickland 94%
Alberto Torrico 44%
Van Tran 100%
Thomas Umberg 29%
Mike Villines 94%
Edward Vincent 25%
Lois Wolk 31%
Mark Wyland 94%
Leland Yee 24%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.