Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Chamber of Commerce

2005 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 27%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 17%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 17%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 13%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 42%
CA State Senate 34 Thomas Umberg Democratic 33%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 9%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan 17%
CA Supervisor 3 Sheila Kuehl 13%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 20%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 27%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz 17%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 100%
CA Mayor Pro Tempore At-Large Joe Baca, Jr. 42%
Samuel Aanestad 87%
Richard Ackerman 93%
Gregory Aghazarian 100%
Richard Alarcón 13%
Elaine Alquist 13%
Juan Arambula 58%
Roy Ashburn 93%
James Battin 93%
John Benoit 100%
Patty Berg 17%
Rudy Bermúdez 17%
Sam Blakeslee 100%
Russell Bogh 92%
Debra Bowen 20%
Ron Calderon 50%
John Campbell III 93%
Joseph Canciamilla 50%
Edward Chavez 42%
Wesley Chesbro 13%
David Cogdill 100%
Rebecca Cohn 33%
Joe Coto 33%
Dave Cox 93%
Lynn Daucher 92%
Hector De La Torre 17%
Jeff Denham 93%
Charles DeVore 100%
Denise Ducheny 60%
Joe Dunn 13%
Robert Dutton 100%
Mervyn Dymally 17%
Bill Emmerson 92%
Martha Escutia 7%
Noreen Evans 9%
Liz Figueroa 27%
Dean Florez 40%
Dario Frommer 25%
Bonnie Garcia 92%
Jackie Goldberg 17%
Loni Hancock 17%
Tom Harman 91%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
Jerome Horton 33%
Shirley Horton 82%
Guy Houston 100%
Robert Huff 100%
Dave Jones 17%
Betty Karnette 25%
Richard Keene 92%
Christine Kehoe 13%
Johan Klehs 17%
John Laird 17%
Jay La Suer 91%
Mark Leno 17%
Robert Leslie 100%
Lloyd Levine 25%
Sally Lieber 17%
Carol Liu 33%
Michael Machado 60%
Abel Maldonado 93%
Bob Margett 86%
Barbara Matthews 67%
Bill Maze 100%
Carole Migden 13%
Cindy Montañez 17%
William Phillip Morrow 93%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 100%
Eugene Mullin 17%
Kevin Murray 42%
Joseph Nation 25%
Pedro Nava 25%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 33%
Roger Niello 100%
Fabian Núñez 17%
Jenny Oropeza 33%
Deborah Ortiz 20%
Nicole Parra 58%
Fran Pavley 17%
Don Perata 20%
George Plescia 100%
Charles Poochigian 93%
Keith Stuart Richman 100%
Gloria Romero 7%
George Runner, Jr. 100%
Sharon Runner 100%
Ira Ruskin 25%
Lori Saldaña 17%
Simón Salinas 18%
Jack Scott 27%
Nell Soto 13%
Todd Spitzer 92%
Audra Strickland 92%
Tom Torlakson 13%
Alberto Torrico 33%
Van Tran 92%
Mike Villines 100%
Edward Vincent 17%
Mimi Walters 100%
Lois Wolk 25%
Mark Wyland 100%
Leland Yee 25%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top