Rating Group: California Chamber of Commerce

2003 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 100%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 100%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 100%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 6%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 100%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 11%
CA U.S. House-46 Lou Correa D 33%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 11%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 17%
CA State Senate-19 Hannah-Beth Jackson D 11%
CA State Senate-36 Pat Bates R 100%
CA Mayor-At-Large Darrell Steinberg D 11%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 11%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan 11%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer 94%
CA Supervisor-5 Bruce McPherson 100%
CA Supervisor-5 Joe Simitian N/A 11%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo 21%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz 11%
CA Council Member-10 Herb Wesson, Jr. 11%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 100%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Other 16%
Samuel Aanestad 95%
Richard Ackerman 100%
Gregory Aghazarian 100%
Richard Alarcón 16%
Deirdre Alpert 21%
Roy Ashburn 100%
James Battin 100%
John Benoit 100%
Patty Berg 11%
Rudy Bermúdez 17%
Russell Bogh 100%
Debra Bowen 32%
James Brulte 95%
John Burton 11%
Ron Calderon 39%
John Campbell III 100%
Joseph Canciamilla 44%
Edward Chavez 28%
Wesley Chesbro 21%
David Cogdill 100%
Rebecca Cohn 17%
Ellen Corbett 11%
Dave Cox 100%
Lynn Daucher 94%
Manny Diaz 17%
Denise Ducheny 16%
Joe Dunn 17%
John Anthony Dutra 33%
Robert Dutton 100%
Mervyn Dymally 17%
Martha Escutia 11%
Liz Figueroa 16%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 0%
Dean Florez 42%
Dario Frommer 22%
Bonnie Garcia 89%
Jackie Goldberg 11%
Loni Hancock 11%
Tom Harman 94%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 94%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
Jerome Horton 22%
Shirley Horton 100%
Guy Houston 100%
Ross Johnson 100%
Betty Karnette 21%
Richard Keene 100%
Christine Kehoe 11%
William Knight 100%
Sheila Kuehl 11%
John Laird 11%
Jay La Suer 100%
Mark Leno 11%
Robert Leslie 100%
Lloyd Levine 11%
Sally Lieber 11%
Carol Liu 39%
John Longville 11%
Michael Machado 53%
Ken Maddox 83%
Abel Maldonado 83%
Bob Margett 100%
Barbara Matthews 78%
Bill Maze 100%
Cindy Montañez 11%
William Phillip Morrow 100%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 100%
Eugene Mullin 17%
Kevin Murray 26%
George Nakano 22%
Joseph Nation 11%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 22%
Fabian Núñez 11%
Thomas Oller 100%
Jenny Oropeza 12%
Deborah Ortiz 21%
Robert Pacheco 100%
Nicole Parra 28%
Fran Pavley 11%
Don Perata 21%
George Plescia 100%
Charles Poochigian 100%
Sarah Reyes 17%
Keith Stuart Richman 94%
Gloria Romero 11%
Sharon Runner 100%
Simón Salinas 17%
Steve Samuelian 100%
Jack Scott 42%
Byron Sher 11%
Nell Soto 21%
Tony Strickland 94%
John Vasconcellos 21%
Edward Vincent 17%
Patricia Wiggins 11%
Lois Wolk 28%
Mark Wyland 94%
Leland Yee 11%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.