Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Utah Sierra Club

2008 Positions on Environmental Conservation

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
UT Mayor Jackie Biskupski Democratic 100%
UT State House 24 Rebecca Chavez-Houck Democratic 100%
Janice Fisher 100%
UT State House 40 Lynn Hemingway Democratic 100%
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 100%
Patricia Jones 100%
David Litvack 100%
Scott McCoy 100%
Rosalind McGee 100%
Karen Morgan 100%
Phil Riesen 100%
Ross Romero 100%
Jennifer Seelig 100%
Carol Spackman Moss 100%
Christine Johnson 88%
Larry Wiley 88%
Tim Cosgrove 86%
Jack Draxler 86%
Carl Duckworth 86%
Brent Goodfellow 86%
Jon Greiner 86%
UT State Senate 19 Allen Christensen Republican 83%
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 83%
Mike Dmitrich 83%
Kay McIff 83%
LaWanna Shurtliff 83%
UT State Senate 26 Kevin Van Tassell Republican 83%
Bradley Winn 83%
Gregory Bell 80%
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 80%
Sheryl Allen 75%
Sylvia Andersen 75%
Brad Dee 75%
UT State House 8 Gage Froerer Republican 75%
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 75%
Fred Hunsaker 75%
Brad King 75%
Merlynn Newbold 75%
Gordon Snow 75%
UT State House 5 Curt Webb Republican 75%
UT State House 35 Mark Wheatley Democratic 75%
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 71%
Jim Bird 71%
Melvin Brown 71%
David Clark 71%
Stephen Clark 71%
Dan Eastman 71%
Fred Fife III 71%
Lorie Fowlke 71%
Kory Holdaway 71%
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 71%
Steven Mascaro 71%
Paul Neuenschwander 71%
Michael Waddoups 71%
Greg Curtis 67%
Sheldon Killpack 67%
Becky Lockhart 67%
Stephen Urquhart 67%
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 67%
Carlene Walker 67%
Doug Aagard 63%
Roger Barrus 63%
UT State House 39 James Dunnigan Republican 63%
Ben Ferry 63%
Julie Fisher 63%
James Gowans 63%
Neil Hansen 63%
Neal Hendrickson 63%
UT State House 71 Bradley Last Republican 63%
Ronda Menlove 63%
UT State Senate 9 Wayne Niederhauser Republican 60%
Mark Walker 60%
UT Auditor John Dougall Republican 57%
Kevin Garn 57%
UT State House 51 Gregory Hughes Republican 57%
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 57%
Scott Jenkins 57%
Todd Kiser 57%
UT State Senate 5 Karen Mayne Democratic 57%
UT State House 13 Paul Ray Republican 57%
Dennis Stowell 57%
D. Chris Buttars 50%
UT State House 60 Brad Daw Republican 50%
Richard Greenwood 50%
UT State House 61 Keith Grover Republican 50%
Christopher Herrod 50%
John Hickman 50%
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 50%
UT State House 73 Michael Noel Republican 43%
Darin Peterson 43%
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 38%
UT Commissioner At-Large Kerry Gibson Republican 38%
Curtis Oda 33%
Stephen Sandstrom 33%
Aaron Tilton 33%
Craig Frank 29%
Kenneth Sumsion 29%
John Mathis 25%
Michael Morley 25%
Patrick Painter 25%
Carl Wimmer 25%
Mark Madsen 20%
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 14%
DeMar Bowman 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top