Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Education Association

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Larry Combest 28%
Thomas DeLay 28%
Jay Dickey 28%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 28%
Terry Everett 28%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 28%
Wally Herger, Jr. 28%
Rick Hill 28%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 28%
Buck McKeon 28%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 28%
Zach Wamp 28%
Y. Tim Hutchinson 27%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 27%
Frank Murkowski 27%
Kit Bond 26%
David Dreier 26%
Slade Gorton 26%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 26%
Jon Kyl 26%
George Radanovich 26%
Rick Santorum 26%
Craig Thomas 26%
Fred Thompson 26%
Spencer Bachus 25%
Christopher Cox 25%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 25%
Doc Hastings 25%
Charles Pickering, Jr. 25%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 25%
James Talent 25%
Roscoe Bartlett 24%
Ed Bryant 24%
Michael Collins 24%
Joel Hefley 24%
John Nathan Hostettler 24%
Jack Kingston 24%
Dan Miller 24%
Mary Bono Mack 23%
James Hansen 23%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 22%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 22%
Don Nickles 22%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 22%
Cass Ballenger 21%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 21%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 21%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 21%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 21%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 21%
Pete Hoekstra 21%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 21%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 21%
Stephen Largent 21%
Charles Norwood, Jr. 21%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 21%
Matt Salmon 21%
Robert Schaffer 21%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 21%
John Shadegg 21%
Cliff Stearns 21%
David Weldon 21%
William Phillip Gramm 19%
Rodney Grams 19%
Charles Hagel 19%
John Mica 19%
Bob Barr, Jr. 18%
Thomas Coburn 18%
Van Hilleary 18%
Don Manzullo 18%
Jim Ryun 18%
Todd Tiahrt 18%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 17%
Philip Crane 17%
John Doolittle 17%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 17%
Bob Stump 17%
Wayne Allard 15%
David McIntosh 15%
Bob Smith 15%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 14%
Richard Pombo 14%
Jesse Helms 13%
John Ashcroft 12%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 12%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 11%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 11%
Joe Scarborough 11%
Howard Coble 7%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top