Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Education Association

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 22%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 25%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 43%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 43%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 94%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 93%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 36%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 71%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 43%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 79%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 43%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 71%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 93%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 31%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 29%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 77%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 71%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 50%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 77%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 31%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 36%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 27%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 57%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 86%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 93%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 93%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 86%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 71%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 38%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 92%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 93%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 43%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 79%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 21%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 43%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 86%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 36%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 93%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 92%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 57%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 93%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 50%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 79%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 93%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 79%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 50%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 29%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 79%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 44%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 13%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 50%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 77%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 64%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 86%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 29%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 86%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 57%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 29%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 36%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 93%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 93%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 85%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 86%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 86%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 93%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 93%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 29%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 100%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 25%
Neil Abercrombie 86%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 31%
Gary Ackerman 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Wayne Allard 19%
Thomas Allen 93%
Rob Andrews 92%
Bill Archer 36%
Richard Armey 43%
John Ashcroft 13%
Spencer Bachus 36%
Henry Scott Baesler 86%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 31%
Richard Hugh Baker 46%
Cass Ballenger 29%
James Barcia 86%
Bob Barr, Jr. 29%
Bill Barrett 71%
Roscoe Bartlett 36%
Joe Barton 21%
Charlie Bass 50%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 43%
Max Baucus 88%
Bob Bennett 31%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 100%
Douglas Bereuter 57%
Howard Berman 100%
Marion Berry 86%
Joe Biden, Jr. 88%
Brian Bilbray 50%
Michael Bilirakis 50%
Jeff Bingaman 94%
Rod Blagojevich 100%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 43%
Sherwood Boehlert 71%
John Boehner 36%
Kit Bond 31%
Henry Bonilla 29%
David Edward Bonior 93%
Sonny Bono 50%
Robert Borski, Jr. 86%
Leonard Boswell 93%
Rick Boucher 86%
Barbara Boxer 100%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 79%
John Breaux 75%
Corrine Brown 92%
George Brown, Jr. 100%
Sam Brownback 25%
Richard Bryan 94%
Ed Bryant 29%
Dale Bumpers 94%
Jim Bunning 50%
Conrad Burns 31%
Dan Burton 36%
Steve Buyer 38%
Robert Byrd 94%
Herbert Callahan 43%
Dave Camp 43%
Ben Campbell 33%
Thomas Campbell 43%
Chris Cannon 43%
Julia Carson 93%
Mike Castle 57%
John Chafee 69%
Saxby Chambliss 54%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 21%
Jon Lynn Christensen 43%
William Clay, Sr. 71%
Eva Clayton 93%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 88%
Robert Clement 85%
Dan Coats 25%
Howard Coble 14%
Thomas Coburn 23%
Thad Cochran 31%
Michael Collins 43%
Larry Combest 36%
Gary Condit 79%
Kent Conrad 100%
John Conyers, Jr. 71%
Merrill Cook 50%
John Cooksey 50%
Jerry Costello 100%
Paul Coverdell 31%
Christopher Cox 29%
William Coyne 100%
Larry Craig 31%
Robert Cramer 93%
Philip Crane 29%
Barbara Cubin 45%
Randall Cunningham 43%
Alfonse D'Amato 50%
Patsy Ann Danner 79%
Thomas Daschle 100%
James Davis 93%
Thomas Davis III 57%
Nathan Deal 36%
Bill Delahunt 86%
Thomas DeLay 43%
Ronald Dellums 79%
Peter Deutsch 93%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 50%
Jay Dickey 29%
Norm Dicks 93%
John Dingell 93%
Julian Dixon 93%
Chris Dodd 100%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 31%
Calvin Dooley 92%
John Doolittle 21%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top