Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: League of Conservation Voters

1997 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 6%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 0%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 6%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 19%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 81%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 94%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 81%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 94%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 19%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 81%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 69%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 94%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 13%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 81%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 13%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 19%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 6%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 81%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 94%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 6%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 69%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 0%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 19%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 0%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 6%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 88%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 81%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 69%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 94%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 71%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 63%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 81%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 56%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 19%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 13%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 6%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 50%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 13%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 81%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 88%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 81%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 81%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 13%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 88%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 75%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 81%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 88%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 88%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 44%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 38%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 63%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 29%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 13%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 86%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 81%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 94%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 44%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 6%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 75%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 13%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 6%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 13%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 13%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 56%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 56%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 69%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 86%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 94%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 86%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 81%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 88%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 50%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 94%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
Neil Abercrombie 75%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 14%
Gary Ackerman 81%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 86%
Wayne Allard 0%
Thomas Allen 88%
Rob Andrews 94%
Bill Archer 19%
Richard Armey 25%
John Ashcroft 0%
Spencer Bachus 19%
Henry Scott Baesler 31%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 0%
Richard Hugh Baker 6%
Cass Ballenger 6%
James Barcia 25%
Bob Barr, Jr. 19%
Bill Barrett 13%
Roscoe Bartlett 13%
Joe Barton 6%
Charlie Bass 63%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 6%
Max Baucus 57%
Bob Bennett 0%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 69%
Douglas Bereuter 25%
Howard Berman 81%
Marion Berry 31%
Joe Biden, Jr. 100%
Brian Bilbray 50%
Michael Bilirakis 31%
Jeff Bingaman 71%
Rod Blagojevich 100%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 6%
Sherwood Boehlert 56%
John Boehner 6%
Kit Bond 14%
Henry Bonilla 13%
David Edward Bonior 75%
Sonny Bono 13%
Robert Borski, Jr. 63%
Leonard Boswell 31%
Rick Boucher 56%
Barbara Boxer 100%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 25%
John Breaux 43%
Corrine Brown 81%
George Brown, Jr. 81%
Sam Brownback 14%
Richard Bryan 71%
Ed Bryant 13%
Dale Bumpers 100%
Jim Bunning 6%
Conrad Burns 0%
Dan Burton 6%
Steve Buyer 6%
Robert Byrd 57%
Herbert Callahan 6%
Dave Camp 13%
Ben Campbell 29%
Thomas Campbell 63%
Chris Cannon 13%
Walter Holden Capps 100%
Julia Carson 69%
Mike Castle 81%
John Chafee 71%
Saxby Chambliss 13%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 6%
Jon Lynn Christensen 19%
William Clay, Sr. 69%
Eva Clayton 75%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 57%
Robert Clement 69%
Dan Coats 29%
Howard Coble 25%
Thomas Coburn 6%
Thad Cochran 0%
Michael Collins 25%
Larry Combest 6%
Gary Condit 50%
Kent Conrad 43%
John Conyers, Jr. 88%
Merrill Cook 38%
John Cooksey 13%
Jerry Costello 63%
Paul Coverdell 0%
Christopher Cox 38%
William Coyne 88%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 25%
Philip Crane 19%
Barbara Cubin 6%
Randall Cunningham 13%
Alfonse D'Amato 29%
Patsy Ann Danner 25%
Thomas Daschle 71%
James Davis 81%
Thomas Davis III 63%
Nathan Deal 25%
Bill Delahunt 88%
Thomas DeLay 19%
Ronald Dellums 94%
Peter Deutsch 75%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 25%
Jay Dickey 19%
Norm Dicks 63%
John Dingell 63%
Julian Dixon 88%
Chris Dodd 100%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 14%
Calvin Dooley 31%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top