Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Council for a Livable World

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Barbara Boxer 90%
Kent Conrad 90%
Byron Dorgan 90%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 90%
Russ Feingold 90%
Tom Harkin 90%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 90%
Bob Kerrey 90%
John Kerry 90%
Frank Lautenberg 90%
Carl Levin 90%
Patrick Moynihan 90%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 90%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 90%
Harry Reid 90%
Paul Sarbanes 90%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 90%
Max Baucus 80%
Joe Biden, Jr. 80%
Jeff Bingaman 80%
Richard Bryan 80%
Robert Byrd 80%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 80%
Chris Dodd 80%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 80%
Timothy Johnson 80%
Herb Kohl 80%
Mary Landrieu 80%
Robert Torricelli 80%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 70%
John Breaux 70%
Thomas Daschle 70%
Daniel Graham 70%
James Merrill Jeffords 70%
Charles Robb 70%
Jay Rockefeller IV 70%
Arlen Specter 70%
Ernest Hollings 60%
Barbara Mikulski 60%
John Chafee 50%
Daniel Inouye 40%
Joe Lieberman 40%
Dick Lugar 30%
Ted Stevens 30%
Ben Campbell 20%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 20%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 20%
William Frist 20%
William Roth, Jr. 20%
Olympia Snowe 20%
John Warner 20%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 10%
John Ashcroft 10%
Bob Bennett 10%
Larry Craig 10%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 10%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 10%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 10%
Slade Gorton 10%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 10%
Judd Gregg 10%
Charles Hagel 10%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 10%
Y. Tim Hutchinson 10%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 10%
Trent Lott, Sr. 10%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 10%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 10%
Frank Murkowski 10%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 10%
Rick Santorum 10%
Gordon Smith 10%
Bob Smith 10%
Craig Thomas 10%
Wayne Allard 0%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 0%
Kit Bond 0%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Conrad Burns 0%
Paul Coverdell 0%
William Phillip Gramm 0%
Rodney Grams 0%
Jesse Helms 0%
Jon Kyl 0%
Connie Mack 0%
Don Nickles 0%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 0%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 0%
Fred Thompson 0%
Strom Thurmond 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top