Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Council for a Livable World

2005-2006 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Tom Harkin 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 91%
Jeff Bingaman 91%
Barbara Boxer 91%
Byron Dorgan 91%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 91%
Russ Feingold 91%
James Merrill Jeffords 91%
Robert Byrd 83%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 83%
Kent Conrad 83%
Chris Dodd 83%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 83%
Timothy Johnson 83%
Frank Lautenberg 83%
Blanche Lincoln 83%
Barack Obama II 83%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 83%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 83%
Joe Biden, Jr. 75%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 75%
Hillary Clinton 75%
Daniel Inouye 75%
John Kerry 75%
Barbara Mikulski 75%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 75%
Harry Reid 75%
Ken Salazar 75%
Paul Sarbanes 75%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 75%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 75%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 66%
Herb Kohl 66%
Carl Levin 66%
Mark Pryor 66%
Max Baucus 58%
Evan Bayh 50%
Lincoln Chafee 50%
Mary Landrieu 50%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. Democratic 50%
Jay Rockefeller IV 50%
Joe Lieberman 33%
Dick Lugar 33%
George Voinovich 33%
Bob Bennett 25%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 25%
Judd Gregg 25%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 25%
Gordon Smith 25%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 16%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 16%
Kit Bond 16%
Sam Brownback 16%
Conrad Burns 16%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 16%
Norm Coleman 16%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 16%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 16%
Charles Hagel 16%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 16%
Trent Lott, Sr. 16%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 16%
Ben Nelson 16%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 16%
Olympia Snowe 16%
Arlen Specter 16%
Ted Stevens 16%
John Sununu 16%
Craig Thomas 16%
George Allen 8%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 8%
Thomas Coburn 8%
Larry Craig 8%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 8%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 8%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 8%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 8%
Melquiades Martinez 8%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 8%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 8%
Rick Santorum 8%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 8%
John Warner 8%
Wayne Allard 0%
Jim Bunning 0%
Saxby Chambliss 0%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
James DeMint 0%
Elizabeth Dole 0%
John Ensign 0%
William Frist 0%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 0%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Johnny Isakson Republican 0%
Jon Kyl 0%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 0%
James Talent 0%
David Vitter 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top