Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Council for a Livable World

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
Barbara Boxer 100%
Dale Bumpers 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Bob Kerrey 100%
John Kerry 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
Carl Levin 100%
Carol Moseley Braun 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Max Baucus 83%
Joe Biden, Jr. 83%
Robert Byrd 83%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 83%
Kent Conrad 83%
Chris Dodd 83%
Byron Dorgan 83%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 83%
John Glenn 83%
Tom Harkin 83%
Ernest Hollings 83%
James Merrill Jeffords 83%
Timothy Johnson 83%
Herb Kohl 83%
Mary Landrieu 83%
Patrick Moynihan 83%
Harry Reid 83%
Arlen Specter 83%
Robert Torricelli 83%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 83%
John Breaux 67%
Richard Bryan 67%
John Chafee 67%
Thomas Daschle 67%
Wendell Ford 67%
Daniel Graham 67%
Daniel Inouye 67%
Charles Robb 67%
Jay Rockefeller IV 67%
Alfonse D'Amato 50%
Joe Lieberman 50%
Dick Lugar 50%
Barbara Mikulski 50%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 33%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 33%
William Frist 33%
William Roth, Jr. 33%
Olympia Snowe 33%
Ted Stevens 33%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 17%
Ben Campbell 17%
Dan Coats 17%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 17%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 17%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 17%
Slade Gorton 17%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 17%
Judd Gregg 17%
Charles Hagel 17%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 17%
Trent Lott, Sr. 17%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 17%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 17%
Frank Murkowski 17%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 17%
Rick Santorum 17%
Gordon Smith 17%
Craig Thomas 17%
John Warner 17%
Wayne Allard 0%
John Ashcroft 0%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 0%
Bob Bennett 0%
Kit Bond 0%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Conrad Burns 0%
Paul Coverdell 0%
Larry Craig 0%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 0%
William Phillip Gramm 0%
Rodney Grams 0%
Jesse Helms 0%
Y. Tim Hutchinson 0%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 0%
Dirk Kempthorne 0%
Jon Kyl 0%
Connie Mack 0%
Don Nickles 0%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 0%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 0%
Bob Smith 0%
Fred Thompson 0%
Strom Thurmond 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top