Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Friends Committee on Legislation of California

2004 Positions

Issues: Social
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 33%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 8%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 90%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 90%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan 90%
CA Supervisor 3 Sheila Kuehl 92%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer 20%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 78%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 89%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz 75%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 30%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 91%
Samuel Aanestad 18%
Richard Ackerman 0%
Gregory Aghazarian 0%
Richard Alarcón 92%
Roy Ashburn 8%
James Battin 0%
John Benoit 0%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 78%
Russell Bogh 0%
Debra Bowen 100%
Ron Calderon 89%
Joseph Canciamilla 80%
Edward Chavez 90%
Wesley Chesbro 82%
David Cogdill 0%
Rebecca Cohn 78%
Dave Cox 10%
Lynn Daucher 33%
Denise Ducheny 89%
Joe Dunn 89%
Robert Dutton 10%
Mervyn Dymally 90%
Martha Escutia 91%
Liz Figueroa 92%
Dean Florez 80%
Dario Frommer 89%
Bonnie Garcia 10%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Loni Hancock 90%
Tom Harman 0%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 20%
Dennis Hollingsworth 10%
Jerome Horton 80%
Shirley Horton 20%
Guy Houston 20%
Richard Keene 0%
Christine Kehoe 90%
John Laird 90%
Jay La Suer 0%
Mark Leno 100%
Robert Leslie 20%
Lloyd Levine 90%
Sally Lieber 90%
Carol Liu 89%
Michael Machado 100%
Abel Maldonado 10%
Bob Margett 22%
Barbara Matthews 30%
Bill Maze 0%
Cindy Montañez 90%
William Phillip Morrow 0%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 10%
Eugene Mullin 90%
Kevin Murray 100%
Joseph Nation 89%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 78%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 89%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
Nicole Parra 40%
Fran Pavley 88%
Don Perata 100%
George Plescia 0%
Charles Poochigian 0%
Keith Stuart Richman 50%
Gloria Romero 91%
Sharon Runner 0%
Simón Salinas 90%
Jack Scott 100%
Nell Soto 92%
Edward Vincent 67%
Lois Wolk 80%
Mark Wyland 10%
Leland Yee 90%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top