Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: NARAL Pro-Choice Massachusetts

1997 Positions on Reproductive Rights

Issues: Abortion
State Office District Name Party Rating
MA U.S. House 8 Stephen Lynch Democratic 0%
MA U.S. House 9 Bill Keating Democratic 100%
MA State House Tenth Bristol William Straus Democratic 100%
MA State House Eleventh Bristol Robert Koczera Democratic 0%
MA State House Thirteenth Bristol Antonio Cabral Democratic 100%
MA State House Thirteenth Essex Theodore Speliotis Democratic 100%
MA State House First Franklin Stephen Kulik Democratic 100%
MA State House Seventh Hampden Thomas Petrolati Democratic 0%
MA State House Eighth Hampden Joseph Wagner Democratic 50%
MA State House Eleventh Middlesex Kay Khan Democratic 100%
MA State House Fifteenth Middlesex Jay Kaufman Democratic 100%
MA State House Sixteenth Middlesex Thomas Golden, Jr. Democratic 0%
MA State House Nineteenth Middlesex James Miceli Democratic 0%
MA State House Twentieth Middlesex Brad Jones, Jr. Republican 50%
MA State House Thirty-Sixth Middlesex Colleen Garry Democratic 0%
MA State House Third Norfolk Ronald Mariano Democratic 100%
MA State House Sixth Norfolk William Galvin Democratic 50%
MA State House Eighth Norfolk Louis Kafka Democratic 100%
MA State House Twelfth Norfolk John Rogers Democratic 0%
MA State House Ninth Suffolk Byron Rushing Democratic 100%
MA State House Fourteenth Suffolk Angelo Scaccia Democratic 0%
MA State House Seventeenth Suffolk Kevin Honan Democratic 100%
MA State House Nineteenth Suffolk Robert DeLeo Democratic 0%
MA State Senate First Bristol and Plymouth Michael Rodrigues Democratic 0%
MA State Senate Second Bristol and Plymouth Mark Montigny Democratic 100%
MA State Senate First Essex and Middlesex Bruce Tarr Republican 50%
MA State Senate Second Middlesex Pat Jehlen Democratic 100%
MA State Senate First Plymouth and Bristol Marc Pacheco Democratic 0%
MA State Senate First Worcester Harriette Chandler Democratic 100%
MA Mayor At-Large Michael Cahill 100%
MA Council Member At-Large Tim Toomey, Jr. 0%
MA Councilor At-Large James Jajuga 50%
Matthew Amorello 100%
Steven Angelo 100%
Robert Antonioni 0%
Michael Bellotti 50%
Robert Bernstein 100%
Frederick Berry 100%
John Binienda, Sr. 0%
Thomas Birmingham 0%
Daniel Bosley 100%
Stephen Brewer 0%
Arthur Broadhurst, Jr. 50%
John Businger 100%
Thomas Cahir 100%
Christine Canavan 100%
Gale Candaras 100%
Paul Caron 100%
Paul Casey 50%
Evelyn Chesky 50%
Vincent Paul Ciampa 50%
Edward Clancy, Jr. 50%
Forrester Clark, Jr. 100%
Carol Cleven 100%
Edward Connolly 0%
Robert Correia 0%
Robert Creedon, Jr. 0%
Brian Cresta 50%
Donna Fournier Cuomo 0%
Walter DeFilippi 0%
Paul Demakis 100%
Brian Dempsey 100%
Salvatore DiMasi 100%
David Donnelly 0%
Carol Donovan 100%
Robert Durand 100%
James Fagan 0%
Susan Fargo 100%
Barry Finegold 100%
Thomas Finneran 0%
Kevin Fitzgerald 0%
Nancy Flavin 100%
Gloria Fox 100%
Barbara Gardner 100%
David Gately 50%
Ronald Gauch 100%
Anthony Philip Giglio 50%
Guy Glodis 50%
Emile Goguen 0%
Shirley Gomes 100%
William Greene, Jr. 0%
Patrick Guerriero 100%
Cele Hahn 100%
Paul Haley 100%
Geoffrey Hall 100%
Robert Hargraves 100%
Lida Harkins 100%
Robert Havern III 100%
Robert Hedlund, Jr. 0%
Christopher Hodgkins 100%
Barbara Hyland 100%
Frank Hynes 100%
Cheryl Ann Jacques 100%
Rachel Kaprielian 100%
Daniel Keenan 50%
Shaun Kelly 50%
Thomas Kennedy 0%
John Klimm 100%
Michael Knapik 0%
Peter Koutoujian 100%
Paul Kujawski 0%
Patrick Landers III 0%
Harold Lane, Jr. 100%
Peter Larkin 0%
Brian Lees 100%
Edward LeLacheur 0%
Jacqueline Lewis 0%
Maryanne Lewis 100%
John Locke 100%
David Magnani 100%
Francis Marini 50%
J. James Marzilli, Jr. 100%
Joseph McIntyre 0%
William McManus II 0%
Linda Melconian 0%
Joan Menard 100%
Richard Moore 0%
Michael Morrissey 0%
Charles Murphy 100%
Dennis Murphy 0%
Kevin Murphy 50%
Mary Jeanette Murray 0%
Therese Murray 100%
William Nagle, Jr. 100%
Thomas Norton 0%
Andrea Nuciforo, Jr. 100%
Janet O'Brien 100%
John O'Brien, Jr. 100%
Thomas O'Brien 100%
Shirley Owens-Hicks 100%
Steven Panagiotakos 50%
Marie Parente 0%
Anne Marie Paulsen 100%
Vincent Pedone 50%
David Peters 50%
Douglas Petersen 100%
George Peterson, Jr. 50%
Lois Pines 100%
Kevin Poirier 0%
Susan Pope 100%
Ruth Provost 100%
John Quinn 50%
Henri S Rauschenbach 100%
William Reinstein 0%
Pamela Resor 100%
Charlotte Richie 100%
Mary Rogeness 100%
Stan Rosenberg 100%
J. Michael Ruane 0%
Anthony Scibelli 0%
Emanuel Serra 0%
Charles Shannon, Jr. 100%
Mary Jane Simmons 100%
Jo Ann Sprague 100%
Harriett Stanley 100%
John Stasik 50%
John Stefanini 100%
Douglas Stoddart 100%
Ellen Story 100%
Joseph Sullivan 50%
Benjamin Swan, Sr. 100%
Kathleen Teahan 0%
Alvin Thompson 100%
Richard Tisei 50%
Stephen Tobin 0%
Steven Tolman 100%
Warren Tolman 100%
Robert Travaglini 100%
Philip Travis 0%
Eric Turkington 100%
Jim Vallee 100%
Patricia Walrath 100%
Marian Walsh 0%
Dianne Wilkerson 100%
Alice Wolf 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top