Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: NARAL Pro-Choice Massachusetts

2005 Positions

Issues: Abortion
State Office District Name Party Rating
Robert Antonioni 0%
MA State House Fourteenth Middlesex Cory Atkins Democratic 100%
Demetrius Atsalis 100%
Edward Augustus, Jr. 100%
MA State House First Norfolk Bruce Ayers Democratic 0%
Steven Baddour 100%
MA State House Twelfth Middlesex Ruth Balser Democratic 100%
Jarrett Barrios 100%
Frederick Berry 100%
John Binienda, Sr. 0%
Deborah Blumer 100%
Daniel Bosley 100%
Garrett Bradley 100%
Stephen Brewer 0%
Arthur Broadhurst, Jr. 0%
Scott Brown 50%
Stephen Buoniconti 0%
MA State House Thirteenth Bristol Antonio Cabral Democratic 100%
Jennifer Callahan 100%
Christine Canavan 100%
Gale Candaras 100%
Mark Carron 0%
Paul Casey 50%
MA State Senate First Worcester Harriette Chandler Democratic 100%
Cheryl Coakley-Rivera 100%
Edward Connolly 50%
Michael Coppola 50%
Robert Correia 0%
Michael Costello 100%
Robert Coughlin 0%
Geraldine Creedon 0%
Robert Creedon, Jr. 0%
MA State Senate First Middlesex and Norfolk Cindy Creem Democratic 100%
Sean Curran 0%
MA State House Nineteenth Suffolk Robert DeLeo Democratic 0%
MA State Senate Plymouth and Barnstable Vinny deMacedo Republican 0%
MA State House Third Essex Brian Dempsey Democratic 100%
Salvatore DiMasi 100%
MA State House Thirty-Fifth Middlesex Paul Donato, Sr. Democratic 0%
Christopher Donelan 100%
Joseph Driscoll, Jr. 0%
MA State Senate Middlesex and Worcester James Eldridge Democratic 100%
James Fagan 0%
Christopher Fallon 0%
Mark Falzone 100%
Susan Fargo 100%
Robert Fennell 0%
Michael Festa 100%
Barry Finegold 100%
MA State Senate Worcester and Middlesex Jennifer Flanagan Democratic 100%
David Flynn 100%
Gloria Fox 100%
John Fresolo 0%
MA State House Seventh Worcester Paul Frost Republican 0%
MA State House Sixth Norfolk William Galvin Democratic 50%
MA State House Thirty-Sixth Middlesex Colleen Garry Democratic 0%
MA State House Second Plymouth Susan Gifford Republican 100%
MA State Senate Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire and Middlesex Anne Gobi Democratic 100%
Emile Goguen 0%
MA State House Sixteenth Middlesex Thomas Golden, Jr. Democratic 0%
Shirley Gomes 100%
Mary Grant 100%
William Greene, Jr. 50%
Denis Guyer 100%
MA State House Fifth Bristol Patricia Haddad Democratic 100%
Geoffrey Hall 100%
Robert Hargraves 50%
Lida Harkins 50%
John Hart, Jr. 0%
Robert Havern III 100%
Robert Hedlund, Jr. 0%
MA State House Fourth Essex Bradford Hill Republican 50%
MA State House Seventeenth Suffolk Kevin Honan Democratic 100%
MA State Senate Second Hampden and Hampshire Don Humason, Jr. Republican 100%
Frank Hynes 100%
MA State Senate Second Middlesex Pat Jehlen Democratic 100%
MA State House Twentieth Middlesex Brad Jones, Jr. Republican 50%
Brian Joyce 100%
MA State House Eighth Norfolk Louis Kafka Democratic 100%
Michael Kane 0%
Rachel Kaprielian 100%
MA State House Fifteenth Middlesex Jay Kaufman Democratic 100%
Daniel Keenan 50%
John Keenan, Jr. 100%
Thomas Kennedy 0%
MA State House Eleventh Middlesex Kay Khan Democratic 100%
Michael Knapik 0%
Brian Knuuttila 0%
MA State House First Hampshire Peter Kocot Democratic 100%
MA State House Eleventh Bristol Robert Koczera Democratic 0%
Peter Koutoujian 100%
Paul Kujawski 0%
MA State House First Franklin Stephen Kulik Democratic 100%
James Leary 50%
Stephen LeDuc 50%
Brian Lees 100%
John Lepper 0%
MA State House Fifth Middlesex David Linsky Democratic 100%
MA State Senate Second Essex and Middlesex Barbara L'Italien Democratic 100%
Paul Loscocco 0%
MA State House Eleventh Suffolk Elizabeth Malia Democratic 100%
MA State House Third Norfolk Ronald Mariano Democratic 100%
J. James Marzilli, Jr. 100%
MA State Senate Third Essex Thomas McGee Democratic 100%
Joan Menard 100%
MA State House Nineteenth Middlesex James Miceli Democratic 0%
MA State Senate Second Bristol and Plymouth Mark Montigny Democratic 100%
Richard Moore 0%
Michael Morrissey 0%
Charles Murphy 100%
MA State House Fourth Norfolk James Murphy Democratic 100%
Kevin Murphy 50%
Therese Murray 100%
MA State House Seventeenth Middlesex David Nangle Democratic 0%
MA State House Twelfth Worcester Harold Naughton, Jr. Democratic 0%
Andrea Nuciforo, Jr. 100%
Robert Nyman 0%
Thomas O'Brien 100%
Eugene O'Flaherty 50%
Robert O'Leary 100%
Shirley Owens-Hicks 100%
MA State Senate First Plymouth and Bristol Marc Pacheco Democratic 50%
Steven Panagiotakos 50%
Marie Parente 0%
Matthew Patrick 100%
Anne Marie Paulsen 100%
Vincent Pedone 50%
MA State House Fourteenth Norfolk Alice Peisch Democratic 100%
Jeff Perry 0%
Douglas Petersen 100%
George Peterson, Jr. 50%
MA State House Seventh Hampden Thomas Petrolati Democratic 0%
Anthony Petruccelli 50%
MA State House Fourth Berkshire Smitty Pignatelli Democratic 100%
MA State House Fourteenth Bristol Elizabeth Poirier Republican 0%
MA Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito Republican 100%
Susan Pope 100%
John Quinn 0%
Kathi-Anne Reinstein 100%
Pamela Resor 100%
MA State Senate First Bristol and Plymouth Michael Rodrigues Democratic 0%
Mary Rogeness 100%
MA State House Twelfth Norfolk John Rogers Democratic 0%
MA State Senate Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester Stan Rosenberg Democratic 100%
MA State Senate Norfolk and Suffolk Mike Rush Democratic 0%
MA State House Ninth Suffolk Byron Rushing Democratic 100%
Tom Sannicandro 100%
MA State House Fourteenth Suffolk Angelo Scaccia Democratic 0%
MA State House Second Hampshire John Scibak Democratic 100%
Carl Sciortino, Jr. 100%
Charles Shannon, Jr. 100%
MA State House Fifteenth Norfolk Frank Smizik Democratic 100%
MA State House Thirteenth Essex Theodore Speliotis Democratic 100%
Robert Spellane 100%
Joyce Spiliotis 100%
MA State Senate Second Middlesex and Norfolk Karen Spilka Democratic 100%
Harriett Stanley 100%
MA Councilor At-Large Thomas Stanley 50%
MA State House Ninth Middlesex Thomas Stanley Democratic 50%
Marie St. Fleur 100%
Ellen Story 100%
MA State House Tenth Bristol William Straus Democratic 100%
David Sullivan 0%
Benjamin Swan, Sr. 100%
MA State Senate First Essex and Middlesex Bruce Tarr Republican 50%
Kathleen Teahan 0%
James Timilty 100%
MA State Senate Norfolk, Bristol and Plymouth Walter Timilty Democratic 0%
Richard Tisei 100%
Stephen Tobin 0%
Steven Tolman 100%
MA Council Member At-Large Tim Toomey, Jr. 50%
David Torrisi 100%
Robert Travaglini 100%
Philip Travis 0%
Susan Tucker 100%
Eric Turkington 100%
Cleon Turner 100%
Jim Vallee 100%
Anthony Verga 50%
MA State House Eighth Hampden Joseph Wagner Democratic 50%
Brian Wallace 0%
Patricia Walrath 100%
Marian Walsh 0%
MA Mayor At-Large Martin Walsh Democratic 100%
Steven Walsh 100%
Martha Walz 100%
Dianne Wilkerson 100%
Alice Wolf 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top