Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Registration Deadline:
Primary: Your application must be postmarked by the 5th day before a primary (or received by your Registrar of Voters or a voter registration agency by the 5th day before a primary). You may apply in person to your town clerk or registrar until 12:00 noon on the last business day before a primary.
General: Your application must be submitted or received by a voter registration agency by the 7th day before an election (or you may register in person with your Registrar of Voters by the 7th day before an election).
However, Connecticut now offers Election Day Registration. If you miss the deadline for registering for an election, you can register and vote in person on Election Day at your town’s Election Day Registration location.

Age: At least 17 years old (must be age 18 on or before election day); 17 year olds, who will turn 18 on or before election day, may participate in general primary.
Citizenship: Must be a United States citizen
Residency: Must be a resident in a Connecticut town
Felony Convictions: Have completed confinement and parole if previously convicted of a disenfranchising felony
ID Requirements: click here

Online: Connecticut’s Online Voter Registration System
In person: You can obtain an application at any Registrar of Voters office
By mail/in writing: Voter Registration Application is available in English and Spanish. Complete the form and return it to the Registrar of Voters office.
By fax: Contact your local Registrars of Voters for faxing options.

Online: Voter Registration Lookup
Phone: Call your local Registrar of Voters or the Secretary of State at (860) 509-6200

Who can vote absentee: You are eligible to vote with an absentee ballot if you are unable to appear at the polling place during the hours of voting for one of the reasons below:
- Active service in the Armed Forces of the United States
- Absence from the town during all of the hours of voting
- Illness
- Religious beliefs forbid secular activity on the day of the election, primary or referendum
- Duties as a primary, election or referendum official at a polling place other than your own during all of the hours of voting
- Physical disability
Other absentee voter qualifications: You must complete a new absentee ballot application for each election, primary, and referendum.

In person: You can obtain an application at any Registrar of Voters.
By mail: Download and print the Application for Absentee Ballot: (English) and (Spanish). Mail the completed application to your local Town Clerk.
Military and overseas voting: For more information on military and overseas voting, click here.

For a referendum with less than 3 weeks’ notice:
English and Spanish Application
Emergency Voting: For an emergency ballot within 6 days of an election Connecticut emergency absentee ballot application (English) and (Spanish)

Complete your ballot, carefully following the instructions that are included and return it by mail or in person. Only complete absentee ballots received before the close of polls on the day of the election will be counted.

Early voting qualifications: Early voting is not available in Connecticut.

Deciding how to vote:
Polling Place: click here
ID Requirements: Connecticut voter identification requirements
Problems with voting: Connecticut/HAVA Voters' Bill of Rights. Connecticut does not have a HAVA complaint form in place. Direct complaints or problems with voting to your local Registrar of Voters
Provisional ballots: Connecticut provisional ballot guidelines and policies
Verifying absentee ballot status: Contact your Registrar of Voter's office

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top