Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

HR 5 - Impeachment of Governor Rod R. Blagojevich - Key Vote

Illinois Key Votes

Mike Fortner voted Yea (Passage) on this Legislation-Resolution.

Read statements Mike Fortner made in this general time period.




Stage Details

Legislation-Resolution - Resolution Passed (House) (117-1) - (Key vote)

Title: Impeachment of Governor Rod R. Blagojevich

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a resolution that reaffirms the actions of the House of Representatives upon passage of HR 1671 which formally impeaches Rod R. Blagojevich as the Governor of the State of Illinois based upon the findings of the Special Investigative Committee established by the House of Representatives of the Ninety-Fifth General Assembly.

- Specifies that the House of Representatives of the Ninety-Fifth General Assembly unanimously agreed to establish the Special Investigative Committee for the purpose of investigating allegations of misconduct involving Governor Blagojevich and making a recommendation of whether the findings of the investigation warrant an impeachment trial. The Committee concludes that Governor Blagojevich abused the power of his office in some or all of the following ways:
    - Plotting to obtain personal benefit in exchange for his appointment to fill the vacant United States Senate seat; - Plotting to condition State financial assistance to the Tribune Company on the firing of certain members of the Chicago Tribune editorial board; - Plotting to trade official executive acts in exchange for campaign contributions with respect to the awarding of State contracts, permits, and authorizations, expansion of State programs, diversion of casino revenue to the horse racing industry, releasing pediatric care reimbursements to doctors and hospitals, and the appointment of a position with the Illinois Finance Authority; - Refusing to recognize the authority of the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules to suspend or prohibit rules, disregarding the doctrine of separation of powers, and violating the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act by unilaterally expanding a State program; and - Actions with regard to, and responsibility for, the procurement of flu vaccines, the I-SaveRx Program, and the Agency Efficiency Initiatives.
- Specifies that the Committee offered Governor Blagojevich the opportunity to appear before the committee and participate in its proceedings but he declined such invitations. - Recommends the following actions be taken with regards to Governor Blagojevich, based upon the Committee's findings:
    - Impeachment and trial; - Removal from office as Governor; and - Disqualification to hold any public office in the State of Illinois hereafter.
Legislation-Resolution - Introduced (House) -

Title: Impeachment of Governor Rod R. Blagojevich



  • Edward J. Acevedo (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Suzanne H. 'Suzie' Bassi (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Mark H. Beaubien Jr. (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Daniel V. 'Dan' Beiser (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert A. 'Bob' Biggins (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • William B. 'Bill' Black (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael J. 'Mike' Boland (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael J. 'Mike' Bost (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • John E. Bradley (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Rich Brauer (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • James D. 'Jim' Brosnahan (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • William D. 'Will' Burns (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Franco Coladipietro (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Sandy Cole (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Annazette R. Collins (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Marlow H. Colvin (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael G. Connelly (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Elizabeth A. Coulson (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Tom Cross (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Shane Cultra (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Monique D. Davis (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Lisa M. Dugan (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Roger L. Eddy (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Keith Farnham (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert F. 'Bob' Flider (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jack D. Franks (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John A. Fritchey (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Paul D. Froehlich (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Esther Golar (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Careen M. Gordon (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Deborah L. Graham (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Julie Hamos (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Gary L. Hannig (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Kay Hatcher (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jay C. Hoffman (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas A. 'Tom' Holbrook (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Constance A. 'Connie' Howard (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Eddie Lee Jackson Sr. (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Naomi D. Jakobsson (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles E. 'Chuck' Jefferson (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Kevin Carey Joyce (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Renée Kosel (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • David R. Leitch (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Joseph M. 'Joe' Lyons (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Sidney Mathias (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Frank J. Mautino (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Karen May (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Emily Klunk McAsey (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John C. 'Jack' McGuire (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Susana A. Mendoza (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • David E. Miller (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Gerald L. 'Jerry' Mitchell (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Donald L. 'Don' Moffitt (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Rosemary E. Mulligan (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Richard P. 'Rich' Myers (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Elaine Nekritz (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • JoAnn D. Osmond (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Harry Osterman (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Brandon W. Phelps (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Sandra M. Pihos (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Raymond Poe (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Harry R. 'Randy' Ramey Jr. (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Dennis M. Reboletti (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Dan Reitz (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Chapin Rose (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Kathleen A. Ryg (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jim G. Sacia (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Angelo 'Skip' Saviano (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Timothy L. Schmitz (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • George F. Scully Jr. (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Darlene J. Senger (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael K. Smith (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Ron Stephens (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Ed Sullivan Jr. (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jil W. Tracy (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael W. Tryon (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Arthur L. 'Art' Turner Sr. (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Patrick Verschoore (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Ronald A. Wait (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Mark Walker (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Eddie Washington (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • James R. 'Jim' Watson (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • David Forrest 'Dave' Winters (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Karen A. Yarbrough (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top