Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

HR 5749 - Emergency Extended Unemployment Compensation Act of 2008 - National Key Vote

Jesse Jackson, Jr. voted Yea (Passage) on this Legislation.

Read statements Jesse Jackson, Jr. made in this general time period.


Issues Related to HR 5749

Stage Details

Legislation - Placed on Calendar (Senate) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (House) (274-137) - (Key vote)
See How Your Politicians Voted

Title: Emergency Extended Unemployment Compensation Act of 2008

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that allows states to enter into an agreement with the federal government to extend unemployment compensation for individuals who have already received the maximum regular compensation under state law.

  • Allows individuals who have no rights to federal or state regular unemployment compensation, or who have exhausted their rights to federal or state regular compensation, to receive emergency unemployment compensation for an additional 13 weeks (Sec. 2).
  • Establishes the weekly benefit amount of emergency unemployment compensation as equal to the amount of regular unemployment compensation during the regular benefit year (Sec. 2).
  • States that the total emergency benefits received will be equal to the lesser of either 50 percent of the total amount of regular compensation or 13 times the average weekly regular compensation (Sec. 3).
  • Provides that emergency unemployment compensation shall last an additional 13 weeks, for a total of 26 weeks, for states that are in an extended benefit period, as defined by high unemployment rates (Sec. 3).
  • States that the federal government shall pay 100 percent of the costs of emergency unemployment to states from the general fund (Sec. 4).
  • Punishes individuals who receive emergency unemployment compensation under false pretenses with a fine or up to 5 years in prison (Sec. 6).


Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: Emergency Extended Unemployment Compensation Act of 2008


  • James A. 'Jim' McDermott (WA - D) (Out Of Office)


  • Robert E. 'Rob' Andrews (NJ - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Shelley Berkley (NV - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Joseph 'Joe' Crowley (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Artur Davis (AL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John D. Dingell (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Keith Maurice Ellison (MN - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Philip 'Phil' English (PA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Samuel 'Sam' Farr (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Bart Gordon (TN - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Dale E. Kildee (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Sander M. 'Sandy' Levin (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Frank A. LoBiondo (NJ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Thaddeus G. 'Thad' McCotter (MI - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Candice S. Miller (MI - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Timothy F. 'Tim' Murphy (PA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Earl Pomeroy (ND - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jon Christopher Porter Sr. (NV - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles B. 'Charlie' Rangel (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Mike Rogers (MI - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Fortney H. 'Pete' Stark (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Bart T. Stupak (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Stephanie Tubbs Jones (OH - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Christopher 'Chris' Van Hollen Jr. (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Timothy L. 'Tim' Walberg (MI - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Diane E. Watson (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles A. 'Charlie' Wilson Jr. (OH - D) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top