Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

SCS HB 973 - Mental Health Insurance Coverage - Key Vote

North Carolina Key Votes

Robert Pittenger voted Nay (Passage With Amendment) on this Legislation.

Read statements Robert Pittenger made in this general time period.




Stage Details

Legislation - Signed (Executive) -

Title: Mental Health Insurance Coverage

Legislation - Concurrence Vote Passed (House) (-) -
Legislation - Bill Passed With Amendment (Senate) (36-12) - (Key vote)

Title: Mental Health Insurance Coverage

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that mandates that insurance companies regard mental health equally with other health areas in determining coverage and establishes minimal required benefits for those with mental illnesses.

-Does not require insurers to cover treatment associated with sex changes (sec. 1). -Establishes minimum benefits for mental healthcare, including thirty combined inpatient and outpatient days and thirty office visits per year (sec. 2).
Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: Mental Health Insurance Coverage

Committee Sponsors


  • Martha Bedell Alexander (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Lindsey Hugh Holliman (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • William L. Wainwright (NC - D) (Out Of Office)


  • Alma S. Adams (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Daniel Terry 'Dan' Blue Jr. (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Walter Green 'Walt' Church Sr. (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Linda D. Coleman (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • James Walker 'Jim' Crawford Jr. (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • William Pete Cunningham (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Pryor Allan Gibson III (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Rick Glazier (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • D. Bruce Goforth (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Melanie Wade Goodwin (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Larry D. Hall (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Margaret M. 'Maggie' Jeffus (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Edward 'Ed' Jones (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Paul Luebke (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Marian Nelson McLawhorn (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Annie Ward Mobley (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Earline W. Parmon (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Deborah K. Ross (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Cullie Max Tarleton (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Joe P. Tolson (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Edith Doughtie Warren (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jennifer Weiss (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • W. A. 'Winkie' Wilkins (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Larry W. Womble (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top