Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

SB 2046 - Teachers’ Retirement Fund - Key Vote

North Dakota Key Votes

John Hoeven signed this Legislation.

Read statements John Hoeven made in this general time period.




Stage Details

Legislation - Signed (Executive) -

Title: Teachers’ Retirement Fund

Legislation - Conference Report Adopted (House) (57-27) - (Key vote)

Title: Teachers’ Retirement Fund

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to adopt a conference report that increases the funds paid into the teachers’ pension fund by the state.

- Establishes a two-tiered system of benefits, placing teachers working before July 1, 2008 in the first tier and teachers working thereafter in the second tier [sec. 2]. - Increases the portion of the teachers’ pension fund paid by the school board from 7.75 percent of the teacher’s salary to 8.25 percent. Teachers will continue to contribute 7.75 percent of their salaries [sec. 3]. - Requires tier one members to teach for three years and tier two members to teach for five years in order to receive normal retirement benefits [sec. 4 (1)]. - Classifies teachers that withdraw from the fund and return after June 30, 2008 as tier two teachers regardless of previously earned credit [sec. 9].
Legislation - Conference Report Adopted (Senate) (-) -
Legislation - Nonconcurrence Vote Passed (Senate) -
Legislation - Bill Passed With Amendment (House) (-) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (Senate) (-) -
Legislation - Introduced (Senate) -

Title: Teachers' Retirement Fund

Committee Sponsors

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top