Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

HR 5682 - U.S.and India Nuclear Cooperation Act of 2006 - National Key Vote

Jesse Jackson, Jr. voted Yea (Passage) on this Legislation.

Read statements Jesse Jackson, Jr. made in this general time period.


Issues Related to HR 5682

Stage Details

Legislation - Passage (Executive) - Became Public Law No. 109-401 -
Legislation - Conference Report Adopted (Senate) -
Legislation - Conference Report Adopted (House) (330-59) -
Legislation - Passage With Amendment (Senate) (85-12) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (House) (359-68) - (Key vote)
See How Your Politicians Voted

Title: U.S.and India Nuclear Cooperation Act of 2006

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that allows the President to exempt India from current restrictions under the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 after certain stipulations have been met and confirmed.

  • Permits the trade of nuclear items and materials between the U.S. and India, a country currently not part of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) (Sec. 2).
  • Provides that the following conditions must be met (Secs. 2 & 4):
    • Civilian and military nuclear facilities, materials, and programs are kept separate;
    • There exists a moratorium on nuclear testing;
    • India actively works with the U.S. to control nuclear reprocessing technology and to prevent the spread of enrichment; and
    • India maintains an active democratic government system that allows for cooperation in non-proliferation movements with the U.S.
Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: U.S.and India Nuclear Cooperation Act of 2006


  • Henry J. Hyde (IL - R) (Out Of Office)


  • Gary L. Ackerman (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Henry Bonilla (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles W. Boustany Jr. (LA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Dan L. Burton (IN - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Joseph 'Joe' Crowley (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John A. Culberson (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • William D. 'Bill' Delahunt (MA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Bob R. Etheridge (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Eni FH Faleomavaega (AS - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Mark Foley (FL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Ralph Moody Hall (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jeb Hensarling (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Samuel Robert 'Sam' Johnson (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • James T. 'Jim' Kolbe (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Tom Lantos (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Ron Lewis (KY - R) (Out Of Office)
  • John Linder (GA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • James A. 'Jim' McDermott (WA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Juanita Millender-McDonald (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Ralph Bradley 'Brad' Miller (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jefferson B. 'Jeff' Miller (FL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Randy Neugebauer (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Peter A. 'Pete' Sessions (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Lamar S. Smith (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Ted Strickland (OH - D) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top