Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

S 104 - Nuclear Waste Disposal bill - Key Vote

National Key Votes

Judd Gregg voted Yea (Passage) on this Legislation.

Read statements Judd Gregg made in this general time period.




Stage Details

Legislation - Bill Passed (Senate) (65-34) - (Key vote)

Title: Nuclear Waste Disposal bill

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that would revise the Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1982.

  • Establishes the Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management within the Department of Energy.
  • Requires the Nuclear Regulatory Commission to set safety guidelines for handling of wastes.
  • Authorizes the Department of Energy to build a temporary storage facility for the nation's nuclear waste at Yucca Mountain.
  • Designates Yucca Mountain a permanent radioactive waste dump.


Calls for the President : 

  • To designate a site for an interim storage facility if the current Yucca Mountain site is deemed unsustainable.
  • To exempt the Hanford Nuclear Reservation, Savannah River, and the Oak Ridge sites from consideration as interm storage facilities.


Calls for the Secretary of Energy: 

  • To develop and operate a management system for the storage and disposal of spent nuclear fuel and radioactive waste.
  • To store sent nuclear fuel and radioactive waste in an interim storage facility no later than 18 months after an interim disposal site has been designated.
  • To use components and manufactured in the U.S. to transport nuclear wastes and incorporate private sector participation in implementing the Act.
  • To mandate public education and training for jurisdictions where waste materials will be transported.
  • To make grants to affected Indian tribes or local governments to monitor and review the impact of the Yucca Mountain site.
Legislation - Introduced (Senate) -

Title: Nuclear Waste Disposal bill


  • Frank H. Murkowski (AK - ) (Out Of Office)


  • Edmond Spencer Abraham (MI - ) (Out Of Office)
  • John D. Ashcroft (MO - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Christopher S. 'Kit' Bond (MO - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Samuel D. 'Sam' Brownback (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Conrad R. Burns (MT - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Paul D. Coverdell (GA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Larry E. Craig (ID - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Duncan McLauchlin 'Lauch' Faircloth (NC - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Rodney 'Rod' Grams (MN - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles T. 'Chuck' Hagel (NE - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jesse Helms (NC - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Ernest F. 'Fritz' Hollings (SC - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Y. Tim Hutchinson (AR - R) (Out Of Office)
  • James Merrill 'Jim' Jeffords (VT - I) (Out Of Office)
  • Dirk Kempthorne (ID - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jon Kyl (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Carl Levin (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Chester Trent Lott Sr. (MS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Connie Mack (FL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles S. 'Chuck' Robb (VA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Richard J. 'Rick' Santorum (PA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert Clinton 'Bob' Smith (NH - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Arlen Specter (PA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Craig Thomas (WY - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Strom Thurmond (SC - R) (Out Of Office)
  • John William Warner (VA - R) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top