Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

HR 856 - Puerto Rico Political Status bill - National Key Vote

Jesse Jackson, Jr. voted Yea (Passage) on this Legislation.

Read statements Jesse Jackson, Jr. made in this general time period.


Issues Related to HR 856

Stage Details

Legislation - Bill Sent To Committee (Senate) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (House) (209-208) - (Key vote)
See How Your Politicians Voted

Title: Puerto Rico Political Status bill

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill requiring Puerto Rico to hold a referendum to determine its future political status.

  • Creates a process for the people of Puerto Rico to decide their future political status through a referendum offering 3 options: continue as a commonwealth, statehood, or independence.
  • Requires the referendum be taken by December 31, 1998.
  • States that the relationship between the United States and Puerto Rico would remain the same if the decision is commonwealth, with referendums held every 10 years thereafter.
  • Dictates that the President must develop a transition plan over the span of 10 years if the decision is statehood within 180 days of the referendum results.
  • States that Puerto Rico will hold a constitutional convention if the decision is independence with a transition plan also of 10 years.
  • Requires Puerto Rico to accept English as the official language of the United States if it decides to puruse statehood.
Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: Puerto Rico Political Status bill



  • Neil Abercrombie (HI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Gary L. Ackerman (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • James 'Jim' Barcia (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Dan L. Burton (IN - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Donna Marie Christensen (VI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • William L. 'Bill' Clay Sr. (MO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas M. 'Tom' Davis III (VA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • William D. 'Bill' Delahunt (MA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas Dale 'Tom' DeLay (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Peter Deutsch (FL - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Jay W. Dickey (AR - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Calvin M. 'Cal' Dooley (CA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Philip 'Phil' English (PA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Samuel 'Sam' Farr (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Chaka Fattah Sr. (PA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Victor H. 'Vic' Fazio (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael Patrick Forbes (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Elton W. Gallegly (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Richard Andrew 'Dick' Gephardt (MO - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Wayne T. Gilchrest (MD - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Benjamin A. Gilman (NY - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Newton Leroy 'Newt' Gingrich (GA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Raymond Eugene 'Gene' Green (TX - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Tony P. Hall (OH - D) (Out Of Office)
  • James V. Hansen (UT - ) (Out Of Office)
  • J. Dennis 'Denny' Hastert (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Maurice D. Hinchey (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Rubén E. Hinojosa Sr. (TX - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Christopher 'Chris' John (LA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Walter Beaman Jones Jr. (NC - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Patrick Joseph Kennedy (RI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Dale E. Kildee (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jay C. Kim (CA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Ronald P. 'Ron' Klink (PA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Dennis J. Kucinich (OH - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Rick A. Lazio (NY - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Edward J. 'Ed' Markey (MA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Matthew G. 'Marty' Martinez (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Bill McCollum (FL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael R. 'Mike' McNulty (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Carrie P. Meek (FL - ) (Out Of Office)
  • George Miller (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Patsy Takemoto Mink (HI - ) (Out Of Office)
  • James L. 'Jim' Oberstar (MN - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Solomon P. Ortiz Sr. (TX - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Major R. Owens (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael G. Oxley (OH - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Edward López 'Ed' Pastor (AZ - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Donald M. Payne (NJ - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Owen B. Pickett (VA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Richard W. Pombo (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • George P. Radanovich (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Nick Joe Rahall II (WV - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Silvestre 'Silver' Reyes (TX - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Carlos A. Romero-Barcelo (PR - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Steven R. 'Steve' Rothman (NJ - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Loretta L. Sanchez (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas C. 'Tom' Sawyer (OH - D) (Out Of Office)
  • H. James 'Jim' Saxton (NJ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • José E. Serrano (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Joseph R. 'Joe' Skeen (NM - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Louise McIntosh Slaughter (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Victor F. 'Vic' Snyder (AR - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert Lee 'Bob' Stump (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • William J. 'Billy' Tauzin II (LA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • John F. Tierney (MA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Esteban Edward Torres (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert Anacletus Underwood (GU - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Bruce Frank Vento (MN - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Albert R. Wynn (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top