Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

HR 2709 - Iran Missile Sanctions bill - Key Vote

National Key Votes




Stage Details

Legislation - Vetoed (Executive) -
Legislation - Concurrence Vote Passed (House) (-) -
Legislation - Bill Passed With Amendment (Senate) (90-4) - (Key vote)

Title: Iran Missile Sanctions bill

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that would impose sanctions on individuals, companies, or research labs that give or transfer ballistic missile technology to Iran.

  • Calls upon the President to report to selected Congressional committees all foreign individuals providing, transferring, or attempting to provide or transfer, technical assistance for the production of ballistic missiles.
  • Establishes a minimum two-year sanction period on such individuals which prohibits them from receiving items from the United States Munitions List, dual use goods and technology, and financial assistance from the United States.
  • Directs the President to appoint the Department of State as liaison with the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW).
  • Allows the United States to bring suit in the U.S. District Court of the District of Columbia, or in any international tribunal, against foreign nations refusing to cover the United States for liabilities imposed as a result of the actions of that nation's OPCW technical inspectors.
  • Establishes a minimum ten-year sanction period on foreign individuals or business entities that do not fully disclose business transactions relating to the export, transfer, or delivery of arms, technology, or financial assistance.
  • Amends current Federal criminal law to make it illegal for any individual to knowingly develop, control, transfer, possess, or use any chemical weapon. 
  • Authorizes the Attorney General to request the use of military assistance to enforce this prohibition in the event of a chemical emergency.
  • Requires the OPCW Technical Secretariat to inspect plant sites and other facilities in the United States and sets forth the provisions to do so.
  • Amends the Office of Federal Procurement Policy Act to state that independent contractors may be required to forgo their constitutional rights for purposes related to this Act.
  • Prohibits the Secretary of Defense and other U.S. government employees from participating or conducting tests on a civilian population using any chemical or biological agent.
  • Exempts information related to this Act from public disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act.
Legislation - Bill Passed (House) -

Title: Iran Missile Sanctions bill

Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: Iran Missile Sanctions bill


  • Benjamin A. Gilman (NY - ) (Out Of Office)


  • Spencer T. Bachus (AL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Henry Scott 'Scotty' Baesler (KY - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Richard Hugh Baker (LA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert Laurence 'Bob' Barr Jr. (GA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Roscoe G. Bartlett (MD - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Kenneth E. 'Ken' Bentsen Jr. (TX - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Howard L. Berman (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael 'Mike' Bilirakis (FL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Rod R. Blagojevich (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Roy Blunt (MO - R) (Out Of Office)
  • John A. Boehner (OH - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert A. 'Bob' Borski Jr. (PA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Sherrod C. Brown (OH - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Corrine Brown (FL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Richard M. Burr (NC - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas J. 'Tom' Campbell (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Chris Cannon (UT - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Benjamin L. 'Ben' Cardin (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John C. Cooksey (LA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jerry F. Costello (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Christopher Cox (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • William J. Coyne (PA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Randall H. 'Duke' Cunningham (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Peter Deutsch (FL - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Julian C. Dixon (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John T. Doolittle (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert L. 'Bob' Ehrlich Jr. (MD - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Jo Ann Emerson (MO - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Philip 'Phil' English (PA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Samuel 'Sam' Farr (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Mark Foley (FL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Harold Ford Jr. (TN - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jon David Fox (PA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert D. 'Bob' Franks (NJ - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Jonas 'Martin' Frost III (TX - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Richard Andrew 'Dick' Gephardt (MO - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Newton Leroy 'Newt' Gingrich (GA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Bart Gordon (TN - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jane Harman (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John David 'J.D.' Hayworth Jr. (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Richard A. 'Rick' Hill (MT - ) (Out Of Office)
  • John Nathan Hostettler (IN - R) (Out Of Office)
  • William 'Asa' Hutchinson (AR - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Henry J. Hyde (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • John Richard Kasich (OH - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Patrick Joseph Kennedy (RI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Joseph K. 'Joe' Knollenberg (MI - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Dennis J. Kucinich (OH - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas P. 'Tom' Latham (IA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Steven C. 'Steve' LaTourette (OH - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Rick A. Lazio (NY - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Jerry Lewis (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert L. 'Bob' Livingston (LA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • James H. 'Jim' Maloney (CT - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Douglas Carmichael 'Mike' McIntyre (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael R. 'Mike' McNulty (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Martin T. 'Marty' Meehan (MA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert 'Bob' Menendez (NJ - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Constance A. Morella (MD - ) (Out Of Office)
  • George R. Nethercutt Jr. (WA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Mark W. Neumann (WI - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Anne Meagher Northup (KY - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael 'Mike' Pappas (NJ - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Paul Michael 'Mike' Parker (MS - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles W. 'Chip' Pickering Jr. (MS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Joseph R. 'Joe' Pitts (PA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • John Edward Porter (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Silvestre 'Silver' Reyes (TX - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Ciro D. Rodriguez (TX - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Timothy 'Tim' Roemer (IN - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Steven R. 'Steve' Rothman (NJ - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Matthew 'Matt' Salmon (AZ - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Marshall Clement 'Mark' Sanford Jr. (SC - R) (Out Of Office)
  • H. James 'Jim' Saxton (NJ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles E. 'Chuck' Schumer (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John B. Shadegg (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • E. Clay Shaw Jr. (FL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Christopher H. Shays (CT - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Vincent K. Snowbarger (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Gerald B.H. 'Jerry' Solomon (NY - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Bart T. Stupak (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • William J. 'Billy' Tauzin II (LA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • William M. 'Bill' Thomas (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Karen L. Thurman (FL - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Zach Wamp (TN - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Gerald C. 'Jerry' Weller (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert A. 'Bob' Weygand (RI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Frank Rudolph Wolf (VA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Lynn C. Woolsey (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Albert R. Wynn (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top