Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

HR 2183 - Campaign Finance Reform bill - National Key Vote

Joseph McDade voted Yea (Passage) on this Legislation.

Read statements Joseph McDade made in this general time period.


Related Legislation

Issues Related to HR 2183

Stage Details

Legislation - Placed on Calendar (Senate) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (House) (252-179) - (Key vote)
See How Your Politicians Voted

Title: Campaign Finance Reform bill

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that imposes campaign finance reforms on the Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971 (FECA) in order to change certain Federal election regulations.

  • Bars national, state, district, or local committees from soliciting funds from tax-exempt organizations, or organizations that have applied for tax-exempt status.
  • Bans individuals from contributing more than $10,000 to a State party during an election cycle.
  • Increases from $25,000 to $30,000 the annual aggregate limit on individual political contributions.
  • Redefines the term "contribution" to include communications that express advocacy for or against a party or individual, as well as payments made in support of a candidate running for Federal office.
  • Redefines the term "Expenditure" to include payments made for communications provided in coordination with the candidate, the candidate's agent, or the candidate's political party for the express purpose of influencing a Federal election.
  • Requires that reports be filed with the Federal Elections Commission (FEC) for persons contributing an aggregate of $1,000 or more after the 20th day before an election, or an aggregate of $10,000 over 20 days before an election.
  • Obliges parties to report any contribution over $200 to the FEC, including the name and address of the donor, and the name of the candidate the money is meant to support or oppose.
  • Forbids parties from making both coordinated and independent expenditures to a candidate after he or she had been officially nominated.
  • Mandates that the FEC file reports electronically and make them publicly accessible on the Internet within 24 hours of their receipt.
  • Extends the time period within which a campaign audit may be started from 6 to 12 months within a scheduled election date.
  • Lowers the minimum contribution for the reporting of contributor identification from $200 to $50.
  • Requires only the name and address of a person contributing between $50 and $200.
  • Directs the FEC to declare that a candidate is eligible if the candidate and the candidate's committees do not exceed a personal funds expenditure limit of $50,000.
  • Prohibits foreign nationals and persons under the age of 18 from contributing to candidates or political parties.
  • Amends FECA to mandate between 1 and 10 years imprisonment for anyone who willfully violates its provisions.
Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: Campaign Finance Reform bill


  • William 'Asa' Hutchinson (AR - R) (Out Of Office)


  • Thomas H. 'Tom' Allen (ME - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Henry Scott 'Scotty' Baesler (KY - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas M. 'Tom' Barrett (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert Marion Berry (AR - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Rod R. Blagojevich (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Leonard L. Boswell (IA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Allen Boyd Jr. (FL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas J. 'Tom' Campbell (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Walter Holden Capps (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Julia M. Carson (IN - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Donna Marie Christensen (VI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Gary A. Condit (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Merrill A. Cook (UT - R) (Out Of Office)
  • James 'Jim' Davis (FL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • William D. 'Bill' Delahunt (MA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Peter Deutsch (FL - ) (Out Of Office)
  • John J. 'Jimmy' Duncan Jr. (TN - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Bob R. Etheridge (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas W. Ewing (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Mark Foley (FL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Harold Ford Jr. (TN - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jon David Fox (PA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Sam Gejdenson (CT - D) (Out Of Office)
  • James A. 'Jim' Gibbons (NV - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Wayne T. Gilchrest (MD - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Virgil H. Goode Jr. (VA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • William F. 'Bill' Goodling (PA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Porter J. Goss (FL - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Lindsey O. Graham (SC - R) (Out Of Office)
  • James C. 'Jim' Greenwood (PA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Richard A. 'Rick' Hill (MT - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Rubén E. Hinojosa Sr. (TX - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Darlene Hooley (OR - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Stephen 'Steve' Horn (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Kenny C. Hulshof (MO - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Christopher 'Chris' John (LA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Jay W. Johnson (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Nicholas V. 'Nick' Lampson (TX - D) (Out Of Office)
  • William P. 'Bill' Luther (MN - ) (Out Of Office)
  • James H. 'Jim' Maloney (CT - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Karen McCarthy (MO - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Carolyn McCarthy (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Douglas Carmichael 'Mike' McIntyre (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jack Metcalf (WA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • David Minge (MN - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas E. 'Tom' Petri (WI - R) (Out Of Office)
  • William T. 'Bill' Redmond (NM - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Frank Duhcan Riggs (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Loretta L. Sanchez (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Marshall Clement 'Mark' Sanford Jr. (SC - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Joe Scarborough (FL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Norman Sisisky (VA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Victor F. 'Vic' Snyder (AR - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Gerald B.H. 'Jerry' Solomon (NY - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Debbie Ann Stabenow (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles W. 'Charlie' Stenholm (TX - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Ted Strickland (OH - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Ellen O. Tauscher (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • William J. 'Billy' Tauzin II (LA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Gene Taylor (MS - D) (Out Of Office)
  • James A. 'Jim' Traficant Jr. (OH - ) (Out Of Office)
  • James 'Jim' Turner (TX - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Zach Wamp (TN - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Henry A. Waxman (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert Wexler (FL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert A. 'Bob' Weygand (RI - D) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top