Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

HR 3820 - Campaign Finance Reform - National Key Vote

Charles Wilson voted Nay (Passage) on this Legislation.

Read statements Charles Wilson made in this general time period.


Issues Related to HR 3820

Stage Details

Legislation - Bill Failed (House) (162-259) - (Key vote)
See How Your Politicians Voted

Title: Campaign Finance Reform

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that amends the Federal Campaign Act of 1971 by changing campaign contribution limits and disclosure requirements.

  • Indicates that at least half of individual campaign contributions must come from individual residents of the district the candidate is seeking to represent.
  • Prohibits political party committees from contributing more than $5,000 to a candidate in a federal election.
  • Stipulates that if a candidate for the House of Representatives expends more than $150,000 of personal funds, then a political party committee may contribute to the opponents campaign without complying with the limits on contributions for political party committees.
  • Allows political party committees to match the amount of campaign funds carried over from a former election cycle for an incumbent for their nominee who is not the incumbent.
  • Requires that all contributions made 20 days before the election are reported within 24 hours.
  • Prohibits workers unions from using members dues for activities other than collective bargaining, contract administration or grievance adjustment without written agreement of the union member.
Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: Campaign Finance Reform


  • William M. 'Bill' Thomas (CA - R) (Out Of Office)


  • Richard K. 'Dick' Armey (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Cass Ballenger (NC - ) (Out Of Office)
  • John A. Boehner (OH - R) (Out Of Office)
  • John Howard Coble (NC - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas Dale 'Tom' DeLay (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Vernon J. 'Vern' Ehlers (MI - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Harris W. Fawell (IL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jon David Fox (PA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Newton Leroy 'Newt' Gingrich (GA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Enid Greene (UT - R) (Out Of Office)
  • David Lee 'Dave' Hobson (OH - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Peter 'Pete' Hoekstra (MI - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jack Kingston (GA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • James T. 'Jim' Kolbe (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert L. 'Bob' Livingston (LA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • William 'Bill' Paxon (NY - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Frank Duhcan Riggs (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert S. Walker (PA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Zach Wamp (TN - R) (Out Of Office)
  • W. Curtis 'Curt' Weldon (PA - R) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top