Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

HR 125 - Gun Ban Repeal Act of 1995 - National Key Vote

Jesse Jackson, Jr. voted Nay (Passage) on this Legislation.

Read statements Jesse Jackson, Jr. made in this general time period.


Issues Related to HR 125

Stage Details

Legislation - Referred to Committee (Senate) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (House) (239-173) - (Key vote)
See How Your Politicians Voted

Title: Gun Ban Repeal Act of 1995

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that repeals the ban on semiautomatic assault weapons and sets the mandatory minimum prison sentence for possession of a firearm while committing a violent federal crime or drug trafficking.

  • Sets the following mandatory minimum sentences in addition to the sentence imposed for the crime itself: 5 years in prison for possession of a firearm while committing a crime and 10 years in prison for brandishing a firearm while committing a violent federal crime or drug trafficking.
  • Increases each of the above sentences by at least 20 years for a second offense.
  • Sets the mandatory minimum sentence at 20 years in prison for discharging a firearm with the intent to injure another person while committing a crime.
  • Sets a mandatory minimum sentence of 30 years in addition to the sentence imposed for the crime itself, if a machinegun or firearm equipped with a silencer is used while committing a crime, and sets a minimum sentence of life imprisonment if either is used in a second offense.
  • Repeals certain prohibitions relating to semiautomatic assault weapons and large capacity ammunition feeding devices.
Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: Gun Ban Repeal Act of 1995


  • Jim Chapman (TX - D) (Out Of Office)


  • Richard Hugh Baker (LA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Cass Ballenger (NC - ) (Out Of Office)
  • James 'Jim' Barcia (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Roscoe G. Bartlett (MD - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Tom Bevill (AL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Frederick C. 'Rick' Boucher (VA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Bill Brewster (OK - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Glen Browder (AL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Ed Bryant (TN - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jim Bunn (OR - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Jim Bunning (KY - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Dan L. Burton (IN - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles T. Canady (FL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Helen P. Chenoweth-Hage (ID - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas Allen 'Tom' Coburn (OK - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Wes Cooley (OR - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jerry F. Costello (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert E. 'Bud' Cramer (AL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael D. 'Mike' Crapo (ID - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Randall H. 'Duke' Cunningham (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Patsy Ann 'Pat' Danner (MO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas Dale 'Tom' DeLay (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jay W. Dickey (AR - ) (Out Of Office)
  • John D. Dingell (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John T. Doolittle (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Bill Emerson (MO - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jack M. Fields Jr. (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • David Funderburk (NC - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Pete Geren (TX - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Bart Gordon (TN - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Raymond Eugene 'Gene' Green (TX - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Ralph Moody Hall (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Lee H. Hamilton (IN - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Melton D. 'Mel' Hancock (MO - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Richard 'Doc' Hastings (WA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • James A. 'Jimmy' Hayes (LA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • John David 'J.D.' Hayworth Jr. (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Maurice D. Hinchey (NY - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas Timothy 'Tim' Holden (PA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John Nathan Hostettler (IN - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Samuel Robert 'Sam' Johnson (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Ronald P. 'Ron' Klink (PA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • James T. 'Jim' Kolbe (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Greg Laughlin (TX - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Ron Lewis (KY - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Bill McCollum (FL - R) (Out Of Office)
  • James O. 'Jim' McCrery III (LA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Scott McInnis (CO - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Alan Bowlby Mollohan (WV - D) (Out Of Office)
  • G.V. 'Sonny' Montgomery (MS - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John P. 'Jack' Murtha (PA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John T. Myers (IN - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert William 'Bob' Ney (OH - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles W. 'Charlie' Norwood Jr. (GA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • William H. 'Bill' Orton (UT - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Ronald C. 'Ron' Packard (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Nick Joe Rahall II (WV - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Dana T. Rohrabacher (CA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles G. 'Charlie' Rose III (NC - D) (Out Of Office)
  • E.G. 'Bud' Shuster (PA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Ike Skelton (MO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Gerald B.H. 'Jerry' Solomon (NY - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles W. 'Charlie' Stenholm (TX - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert Lee 'Bob' Stump (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • James M. 'Jim' Talent (MO - R) (Out Of Office)
  • William J. 'Billy' Tauzin II (LA - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Gene Taylor (MS - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Harold L. Volkmer (MO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Barbara F. Vucanovich (NV - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Roger F. Wicker (MS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Charles Wilson (TX - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert E. 'Bob' Wise Jr. (WV - ) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top