Key Votes

S 171 - Department of the Environment Act - Key Vote

National Key Votes

John Kerry voted Yea (Passage) on this Legislation.

Read statements John Kerry made in this general time period.




Stage Details

Legislation - Bill Passed (Senate) (79-15) - (Key vote)

Title: Department of the Environment Act

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that gives the Environmental Protection Agency departmental status and renames it the Department of Environmental Protection (DEP).

  • Eliminates the Council on Environmental Quality and transfers its functions to the Secretary of the DEP.
  • Creates the Bureau of Environmental Statistics to compile, analyze, and publish environmental statistics on the nature, source, and amount of pollutants in the environment and the effects of the pollutants on citizens.
  • Establishes the Office of Environmental Justice to determine if new environmental policies are helping individuals who live in high pollution areas, collect information on pollutant effects on health, identify areas which are exposed to high levels of pollution, and develop a plan "ensure equality in environmental protection".
  • Requires the President to recommend to Congress within 90 days of the bill's enactment allowing a single federal agency to make technical determinations on whether wetlands can be used for agricultural purposes.
Legislation - Introduced (Senate) -

Title: Department of the Environment Act


  • John Glenn (OH - D) (Out Of Office)


  • Daniel Kahikina Akaka Sr. (HI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Max S. Baucus (MT - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jeff Bingaman (NM - D) (Out Of Office)
  • David L. Boren (OK - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Barbara Boxer (CA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Bill Bradley (NJ - ) (Out Of Office)
  • Richard H. Bryan (NV - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Dale Bumpers (AR - D) (Out Of Office)
  • William Sebastian Cohen (ME - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Christopher J. 'Chris' Dodd (CT - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Daniel Robert 'Bob' Graham (FL - ) (Out Of Office)
  • James Merrill 'Jim' Jeffords (VT - I) (Out Of Office)
  • Edward M. 'Ted' Kennedy Sr. (MA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Herbert H. 'Herb' Kohl (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Frank R. Lautenberg (NJ - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Carl Levin (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Joseph I. 'Joe' Lieberman (CT - I) (Out Of Office)
  • Barbara A. Mikulski (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Claiborne 'Clay' Pell Jr. (RI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Donald W. Riegle Jr. (MI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Paul S. Sarbanes (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • James Ralph 'Jim' Sasser (TN - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Paul Simon (IL - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Paul D. Wellstone (MN - D) (Out Of Office)

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.