Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

HB 1131 - Prohibits Cyberbullying of a Minor - Colorado Key Vote


Issues Related to HB 1131

Stage Details

Legislation - Referred to Committee (Senate) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (House) (54-10) - (Key vote)
See How Your Politicians Voted

Title: Prohibits Cyberbullying of a Minor

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that prohibits the cyberbullying of minors, effective July 1, 2014.

  • Classifies a violation of “cyberbullying” as follow (Sec. 1):
    • Class 2 misdemeanor; or
    • Class 1 misdemeanor if the individual engages in cyberbullying because of the victim’s race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, physical or mental disability, gender identity, or sexual orientation.
  • Defines “cyberbullying” as an act by an individual who knowingly through the use of “social media” posts or statements about a minor or makes a credible threat against a minor that results in “serious emotional distress” to the minor (Sec. 1). 
  • Defines “cyberbullying” as any of the following actions that result in “serious emotional distress” to a minor (Sec. 1):
    • The individual posts information on social media or another source with the intent to cause a minor to suffer emotional stress; or 
    • The individual makes a credible threat against a minor that the individual knows or should reasonably know will be viewed by the minor.
  • Defines “social media” as any electronic medium, including an interactive computer service, that allows users to create, share, and view user-generated content including, but not limited to, the following content (Sec. 1):
    • Videos and still photographs;
    • Blogs, video blogs, and podcasts;
    • Instant messages and electronic mail; or
    • Internet web site profiles.
  • Prohibits a victim of cyberbullying from being required to receive professional treatment or counseling as proof that he or she suffered serious emotional distress (Sec. 1).
Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: Prohibits Cyberbullying of a Minor


  • Rhonda Fields (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John M. Kefalas (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Linda M. Newell (CO - D) (Out Of Office)


  • John W. Buckner (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Lois Court (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Crisanta Duran (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Thomas 'Tony' Exum Sr. (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Mark Ferrandino (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Randy Fischer (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Mike Foote (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Leroy M. Garcia Jr. (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Joann Ginal (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Millie Hamner (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Dickey Lee Hullinghorst (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jeanne Labuda (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Steve Lebsock (CO - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Sanford E. 'Pete' Lee (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jenise May (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Elizabeth H. 'Beth' McCann (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael E. 'Mike' McLachlan (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Diane E. Mitsch Bush (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Dominick Moreno (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Daniel R. 'Dan' Pabon (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Brittany Pettersen (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Dianne I. Primavera (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Paul B. 'Rosey' Rosenthal (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Su Ryden (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Joseph A. Salazar (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Sue Schafer (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Max Tyler (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Edward 'Ed' Vigil (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Angela Williams (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jared B. Wright (CO - R) (Out Of Office)
  • David L. 'Dave' Young (CO - D) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top