Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

HB 1101 - Authorizes Medical Marijuana - Maryland Key Vote


Issues Related to HB 1101

Stage Details

Legislation - Signed (Executive) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (Senate) (42-4) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (House) (108-28) - (Key vote)
See How Your Politicians Voted

Title: Authorizes Medical Marijuana

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that establishes a commission to regulate medical marijuana programs, effective October 1, 2013.

  • Establishes the independent Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Marijuana Commission within the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene to select academic medical research centers for operation of medical marijuana programs (Sec. 1). 
  • Specifies that the commission will consist of the following 12 individuals (Sec. 1):
    • The Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene or the secretary’s designee;
    • 1 member of the public who supports the use of medical marijuana and is a current or former patient who found relief from medical marijuana use;
    • 1 member of the public designated by the Maryland Chapter of the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence;
    • 3 physicians licensed in the state who specialize in addiction, pain, oncology, neurology, or clinical research;
    • 1 nurse licensed in the state who has experience in hospice care, nominated by a state research institution or trade association;
    • 1 pharmacist licensed in the state, nominated by a state research institution or trade association;
    • 1 scientist who has experience in the science of marijuana, nominated by a state research institution;
    • 1 representative of the Maryland State’s Attorneys’ Association;
    • 1 representative of the Maryland Chiefs of Police; and
    • 1 attorney who is knowledgeable about medical marijuana laws in the United States.
  • Requires the commission to request applications at least once a year from academic medical centers that are interested in operating medical marijuana programs (Sec. 1).
  • Requires an academic medical center to provide an application that includes, but is not limited to, the following information (Sec. 1):
    • The medical conditions to be treated under the program, proposed on the basis of evidence;
    • The criteria by which the academic medical center will select patients for the program;
    • The criteria by which health care provides will be eligible to participate in the program;
    • The method for monitoring data and outcomes of the program and publishing the results; and
    • The procedure the academic medical center will take to prevent and monitor for diversion.
  • Requires the commission to establish an application review process that includes reviewers with expertise in scientific research and analysis, medical training, and law enforcement (Sec. 1). 
  • Authorizes the commission to grant a 1-year approval to a program, which may then by renewed by the commission (Sec. 1). 
  • Prohibits the commission from approving more than 5 programs to operate at a time (Sec. 1).
  • Establishes a fund for the commission that includes the following (Sec. 1):
    • Money appropriated in the state budget to the fund; and 
    • Money from donations or gifts accepted for the benefit of the fund.
Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: Authorizes Medical Marijuana


  • Sam Arora (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Susan L. M. Aumann (MD - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Elizabeth 'Liz' Bobo (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Joseph C. 'Joe' Boteler III (MD - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Aisha N. Braveboy (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Rudolph C. Cane (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jon S. Cardin (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jill P. Carter (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Galen Ronald Clagett (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John W. E. Cluster Jr. (MD - R) (Out Of Office)
  • John P. Donoghue (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Donald B. Elliott (MD - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Brian J. Feldman (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • William J. Frank (MD - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Barbara A. Frush (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Glen Glass (MD - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Cheryl D. Glenn (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Ana Sol Gutierrez (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Peter A. Hammen (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Keith E. Haynes (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Sheila Ellis Hixson (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • James W. Hubbard (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Tom Hucker (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jolene Ivey (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • A. Wade Kach (MD - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Benjamin F. 'Ben' Kramer (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Stephen W. 'Steve' Lafferty (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Susan C. Lee (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Mary Ann 'Mary Ann' Love (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • James E. Malone Jr. (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Brian K. McHale (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Aruna Miller (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Joseph J. 'Sonny' Minnick (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Heather R. Mizeur (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Dan K. Morhaim (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Peter F. Murphy (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Shirley Nathan-Pulliam (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Doyle L. Niemann (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Nathaniel T. Oaks (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Shane A. Robinson (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Barbara A. Robinson (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael D. 'Mike' Smigiel Sr. (MD - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Melvin L. Stukes (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael G. Summers (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Shawn Z. Tarrant (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Veronica L. Turner (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Frank S. Turner (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael L. Vaughn (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Mary L. Washington (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Michael H. Weir Jr. (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Craig J. Zucker (MD - D) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top