Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

HB 2067 - Voter Photographic Identification Requirements - Kansas Key Vote


Issues Related to HB 2067

Stage Details

Legislation - Signed (Executive) -

Title: Voter Photographic Identification Requirements

Legislation - Conference Report Adopted (House) (111-11) -
Legislation - Nonconcurrence Vote Passed (House) -
Legislation - Bill Passed With Amendment (Senate) (36-3) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (House) (83-36) - (Key vote)
See How Your Politicians Voted

Title: Voter Photographic Identification Requirements

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that requires proof of United States citizenship to vote.

  • Prohibits the county election officer or secretary of state's office from registering any applicant to vote until the applicant has provided satisfactory evidence of United States citizenship, which may be satisfied by providing one of, but not limited to, the following (Sec. 8):
    • The applicant's driver license or nondriver's identification from another state within the United States; 
    • The applicant's birth certificate that verifies U.S. citizenship; 
    • The applicant's U.S. valid or expired passport; or 
    • The applicant's U.S. naturalization documents or the number of the certificate of naturalization.
  • Specifies that proof of voter registration from another state is not satisfactory evidence of U.S. citizenship (Sec. 8). -Requires a voter to provide a valid form of identification to be approved by a member of the election board at the polling place (Sec. 15). 
  • Classifies voting without U.S. citizenship as a felony (Sec. 12). 
  • Establishes that the state election board consists of the Lieutenant Governor, the Secretary of State, and the Attorney General who are to adopt rules and regulations for determination of apportionment of election expenses among the subdivisions of government (Sec. 7). 
  • Requires the division of motor vehicles to provide a photo identification card for purposes of meeting the voter registration requirements at no cost to Kansas residents who (Sec. 1):
    • Sign an affidavit stating that such a person plans to register to vote; 
    • Are 18 years or older; 
    • Receive receive food assistance, general assistance, supplemental security distribution program, bureau of Indian affairs general assistance, tribally administered temporary assistance for needy families or meal assistance through the national school lunch program; or 
    • Reside in a household whose income is 150 percent or less of the federal poverty level.
  • Requires people requesting an advance voting ballot to provide a current and valid Kansas driver's license number or Kansas nondriver's identification card number to the county election officer for the ballot to be counted in the election (Sec. 2).
Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: Voter Photographic Identification Requirements


  • Tom Arpke (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Anthony R. Brown (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Steven 'Steve' Brunk (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Mike Burgess (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Terry L. Calloway (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Richard Carlson (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Dan L. Collins (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Peter 'Pete' DeGraaf (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Owen Donohoe (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • James P. Fawcett (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Rocky Fund (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Mario Goico (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jana Taylor Goodman (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Terri Lois Gregory (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Amanda Grosserode (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Brett M. Hildabrand (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Mitch Holmes (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jim Howell (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Kasha Kelley (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • S. Mike Kiegerl (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Lance Y. Kinzer (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Marvin G. Kleeb (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Brenda K. Landwehr (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Peggy L. Mast (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Joe McLeland (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Kelly R. Meigs (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Reynaldo R. Mesa (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Robert 'Bob' Montgomery (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Connie R. O'Brien (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Charlotte O'Hara (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Leslie Osterman (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Bill C. Otto (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Joe Patton (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Virgil Peck Jr. (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Anthony 'Tony' Powell (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Marc Rhoades (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • John Rubin (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Joseph Scapa (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Arlen H. Siegfreid (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Gregory A. 'Greg' Smith (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Gene Suellentrop (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Brian A. Weber (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • William M. 'Bill' Wolf (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Kay Wolf (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Ron Worley (KS - R) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top