Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Key Votes

HB 195 - Inmate Parole Modifications - Louisiana Key Vote

Regina Barrow Co-Sponsored (Introduced) this Legislation.

Read statements Regina Barrow made in this general time period.


Issues Related to HB 195

Stage Details

Legislation - Signed (Executive) -

Title: Inmate Parole Modifications

Legislation - Bill Passed (Senate) (22-7) - (Key vote)
See How Your Politicians Voted

Title: Inmate Parole Modifications

Vote Result
Yea Votes
Nay Votes
Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that amends the requirements for granting parole to inmates.

-Requires the Board of Parole to meet in a minimum of three-member panels at the adult correctional institutions on regular scheduled dates, not less than every 3 months (Sec. 1). -Authorizes the Board of Parole to grant parole with two votes of a three-member panel instead of the three usually required if all of the following conditions are met (Sec. 1):
    -The offender has not been convicted of a crime of violence or a sex offense; -The offender has not committed any disciplinary offenses in the year prior to the parole eligibility date; -The offender has completed the mandatory minimum of 100 hours of pre-release programming; -The offender has completed substance abuse treatment as applicable; -The offender has obtained a GED credential, unless the offender has previously obtained a high school diploma; and -The offender has obtained a low-risk level designation.
-Specifies that no person convicted of a crime of violence against any peace officer shall be granted parole except after a meeting at which at least five of the seven members of the board are present and all members vote to grant parole (Sec. 1).
Legislation - Bill Passed (House) (-) -
Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: Modifications of Conditions for Granting Parole to Inmates


  • Fred H. 'T-Fred' Mills Jr. (LA - R) (Out Of Office)


  • Regina Ashford Barrow (LA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Roy Allen Burrell (LA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Herbert B. Dixon (LA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • John Bel Edwards (LA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Rickey Hardy (LA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Girod H. Jackson III (LA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Kay Kellogg Katz (LA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Juan A. LaFonta (LA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Joseph P. Lopinto III (LA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Jack Montoucet (LA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Rickey L. 'Rick' Nowlin (LA - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Karen Gaudent St Germain (LA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Charmaine L. Marchand Stiaes (LA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Ledricka Johnson Thierry (LA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Patrick C. Williams (LA - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Ernest Durham Wooton (LA - I) (Out Of Office)
Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top