Gov. Phil Bryant today signed a measure that bans abortions in Mississippi at and after 20 weeks gestation. House Bill 1400 takes effect July 1, 2014.
"Today is an important day for protecting the unborn and the health and safety of women in Mississippi," Gov. Phil Bryant said. "Medical research shows that an unborn child can feel pain by not later than 20 weeks gestation, and research also shows that the risk of death and complications from an abortion increases significantly as a pregnancy progresses."
The bill requires a physician to determine gestational age prior to inducing, performing or attempting to perform an abortion. The bill does not apply in cases where carrying a pregnancy to term would seriously and substantially threaten the health or life of the mother or in cases where the unborn child is determined to suffer from fetal abnormalities so great that life outside the womb is not viable.
Failure to comply with the law can be grounds for the revocation or restriction of a medical license or for the denial of reinstatement or renewal of a license.