or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Public Statements

Ayotte Helps Introduce Nuclear Weapon Free Iran Act

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

U.S. Senator Kelly Ayotte (R-NH) announced today that she is an original co-sponsor of the Nuclear Weapon Free Iran Act of 2013 - bipartisan legislation proposing additional sanctions on Iran should the regime violate the interim Joint Plan of Action agreed to last month in Geneva or should Iran fail to reach a final agreement. The bill was introduced today by Senate Foreign Relations Committee Chairman Bob Menendez (D-NJ) and Senator Mark Kirk (R-IL).

"We can't allow the world's worst state sponsor of terrorism to acquire the world's most dangerous weapon," said Senator Ayotte, a member of the Armed Services Committee. "We have to make clear that the only way Iran will see an end to sanctions is to verifiably, transparently, and permanently end their nuclear weapons program. With this legislation, Iran now has a choice - honor your agreements and permanently and verifiably end your nuclear weapons program or face additional sanctions."

If Iran fails to honor its commitments, the legislation would require further reductions in purchases of Iranian petroleum and apply additional penalties to strategic elements of the Iranian economy, to include the engineering, mining and construction sectors.

The legislation was co-sponsored by twenty-six senators, including: Senators Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Ben Cardin (D-MD), John McCain (R-AZ), Bob Casey (D-PA), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Chris Coons (D-DE), John Cornyn (R-TX), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Mark Begich (D-AK), Bob Corker (R-TN), Mark Pryor (D-AR), Susan Collins (R-ME), Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Kirstin Gillibrand (D-NY), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Mark Warner (D-VA), Mike Johanns (R-NE), Kay Hagan (D-NC), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Joe Donnelly (D-IN), and Roy Blunt (R-MO).

Back to top