or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Public Statements

The American Energy Manufacturing Technical Corrections Act

Floor Speech

Location: Unknown

Mr. KIND. Mr. Speaker, I rise in strong support of H.R. 6582, the American Energy Manufacturing Technical Corrections Act as it provides technical corrections and regulatory certainty to a number of domestic manufacturers. The legislation, which I am proud to cosponsor, has bi-partisan and bi-cameral support, not to mention the support of manufacturers and the NGO community. More specifically I would like to thank Chairman Whitfield and Mr. Aderholt for including H.R. 482, the Water Heater Rating Improvement Act of 2011, or Section 3 of the underlying bill, that will fix a regulatory problem related to the test methodology that the Department of Energy uses to calculate the efficiency levels of water heaters, which the Department has acknowledged is broken. The legislation will also level the playing field for domestic water heater manufacturers vs. foreign manufacturers and provide the necessary regulatory and business certainty that domestic water heater manufacturers have been calling for over four years. This will also lead to significant energy saved by highly efficient U.S. produced water heaters, many of which were designed in my home state of Wisconsin. In addition, Mr. Speaker, the legislation has the potential of adding up to 1,000 jobs in domestic water heater factories, one of which is in Wisconsin, and thousands of more indirect jobs associated with the manufacturers supply chain.

Finally Mr. Speaker, I'd again like to thank Chairman Whitfield and Mr. Waxman for their hard work on the bill and steering an accommodative process, and Mr. Aderholt and Mr. Carnahan for their leadership on the legislation.

Back to top